Ghost

Ghost
Available:
Author: Jason Reynolds
Pages: 208
ISBN: 9781481450164
Release: 2017-08-29
Editor: Simon and Schuster

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Aspiring to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school's track team, gifted runner Ghost finds his goal challenged by a tragic past with a violent father.

The Ghost Bride

The Ghost Bride
Available:
Author: Yangsze Choo
Pages: 384
ISBN: 0062227335
Release: 2014-08-05
Editor: William Morrow Paperbacks

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Yangsze Choo’s stunning debut, The Ghost Bride, is a startlingly original novel infused with Chinese folklore, romantic intrigue, and unexpected supernatural twists. Li Lan, the daughter of a respectable Chinese family in colonial Malaysia, hopes for a favorable marriage, but her father has lost his fortune, and she has few suitors. Instead, the wealthy Lim family urges her to become a “ghost bride” for their son, who has recently died under mysterious circumstances. Rarely practiced, a traditional ghost marriage is used to placate a restless spirit. Such a union would guarantee Li Lan a home for the rest of her days, but at what price? Night after night, Li Lan is drawn into the shadowy parallel world of the Chinese afterlife, where she must uncover the Lim family’s darkest secrets—and the truth about her own family. Reminiscent of Lisa See’s Peony in Love and Amy Tan’s The Bonesetter’s Daughter, The Ghost Bride is a wondrous coming-of-age story and from a remarkable new voice in fiction.

The Girl and the Ghost

The Girl and the Ghost
Available:
Author: Hanna Alkaf
Pages: 288
ISBN: 9780062940971
Release: 2020-08-04
Editor: HarperCollins

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies. I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command. Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable. But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness. Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

The Ghost Collector

The Ghost Collector
Available:
Author: Allison Mills
Pages: 200
ISBN: 1773212958
Release: 2019
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

"Ghosts aren't meant to stick around forever . . . Ghosts are everywhere in Shelly's life. Recently passed people, pets, and a boy who lives in the local graveyard and lends her Smiths tapes are all part of spirit world she and her grandmother are privy to. In the tradition of their Cree ancestors, Shelly and her grandmother help these lost souls transition to the next world by catching them in their hair. But when Shelly's mom dies, her relationship to ghosts--and death--changes. Instead of helping spirits move on, she starts bringing them home and hiding them in her room. But no matter how many ghosts she collects, Shelly can't ignore the one that's missing. Why hasn't her mom's ghost come home yet? Rooted in a Cree worldview and inspired by the author's great-grandmother's stories, The Ghost Collector delves into questions of grief, loss, and the many ways people can linger after death."--

The Ghost Garden

The Ghost Garden
Available:
Author: Susan Doherty
Pages: 384
ISBN: 9780735276529
Release: 2020-09-08
Editor: Vintage Canada

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Susan Doherty's groundbreaking book brings us a population of lost souls, ill-served by society, feared, shunted from locked wards to rooming houses to the streets to jail and back again. For the past ten years, some of the people who cycle in and out of the severely ill wards of the Douglas Institute in Montreal, have found a friend in Susan, who volunteers on the ward and then follows her friends out into the world as they struggle to get through their days. With their full cooperation, she brings us their stories, challenging the ways we think about people with mental illness on every page.

The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree
Available:
Author: Christina Henry
Pages: 320
ISBN: 1785659790
Release: 2020-09-08
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Give Up the Ghost

Give Up the Ghost
Available:
Author: Jenn Burke
Pages: 329
ISBN: 9781488036262
Release: 2019-06-03
Editor: Carina Press

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The bigger they are, the harder they maul. Immortal not-ghost Wes Cooper and his vampire partner, Hudson Rojas, have it all—rewarding private investigation work, great friends and, most important, a love that’s endured. But ever since Wes sent a demon screaming back to the beyond, his abilities have grown overpowering and overwhelming. He’s hiding the fact that he’s losing control the best he can, but it’s hard to keep anything a secret for long when your partner’s a former cop…and especially when your partner’s a former cop who wants to move in together. When all hell literally breaks loose in Toronto and superstrength ghosts are unleashed on Wes and his friends, he and Hudson are thrown into a case unlike any they’ve seen before. To save the city, Wes needs to harness his new power…and find some answers. But when he gets them, the solution to fix it all could mean losing everything. One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise! This book is approximately 79,000 words

The Ghost dance Religion and the Sioux Outbreak of 1890

The Ghost dance Religion and the Sioux Outbreak of 1890
Available:
Author: James Mooney
Pages: 26
ISBN: 0803281773
Release: 1991-01-01
Editor: U of Nebraska Press

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Responding to the rapid spread of the Ghost Dance among tribes of the western United States in the early 1890s, James Mooney set out to describe and understand the phenomenon. He visited Wovoka, the Ghost Dance prophet, at his home in Nevada and traced the progress of the Ghost Dance from place to place, describing the ritual and recording the distinctive song lyrics of seven separate tribes. His classic work (first published in 1896 and here reprinted in its entirety for the first time) includes succinct cultural and historical introductions to each of those tribal groups and depicts the Ghost Dance among the Sioux, the fears it raised of an Indian outbreak, and the military occupation of the Sioux reservations culminating in the tragedy at Wounded Knee. Seeking to demonstrate that the Ghost Dance was a legitimate religious movement, Mooney prefaced his study with a historical survey of comparable millenarian movements among other American Indian groups. In addition to his work on the Ghost Dance, James Mooney is best remembered for his extraordinarily detailed studies of the Cherokee Indians of the Southeast and the Kiowa and other tribes of the southern plains, and for his advocacy of American Indian religious freedom.

The Ghost Town Treasure

The Ghost Town Treasure
Available:
Author: Ann Sheldon
Pages: 191
ISBN: 067144526X
Release: 1982
Editor: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Linda, her brother, and their two friends encounter danger and mystery as they search for lost treasure in the high Sierras.

The Ghost

The Ghost
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 28
ISBN: NYPL:33433058352463
Release: 1767
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Ghost

The Ghost
Available:
Author: Jessica Gadziala
Pages: 250
ISBN: 1719453071
Release: 2018-04-18
Editor: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Sloane has everything she thought she ever wanted- a great career, a great apartment, great clothes, a life she had worked hard for. Until one night, one chance encounter, one decision that changed everything. With no options left, she enlists the help of Quinton Baird & Associates, who promptly inform her that she has to leave it all - the career, the apartment, the life she had worked so hard to build for herself - behind. If all that wasn't enough, her entire future - and life in general - was in the hands of a man whose coworkers called 'The Ghost.' Because that was what he did; he ghosted people, hid them, gave them new lives, made them impossible to find. With no other choice, she agrees to his terms, climbs in a car with him, and travels almost clear across the country toward her new life. But the long hours on the road - and even longer hours in cabins and hotel rooms - together start to show her things. Like how unhappy she had actually been, how hollow her life was, how much she had denied herself in the name of superficial success. And maybe, just maybe, how much she was starting to see how wrong first impressions can be, and how much a person can begin to mean to you when you decided to let them in...

Banishing the Ghost of Unemployment

Banishing the Ghost of Unemployment
Available:
Author: Isaac James Hoover
Pages: 99
ISBN: STANFORD:36105041763488
Release: 1934
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Ghost Runner

The Ghost Runner
Available:
Author: Norwyn Mactire
Pages: 104
ISBN: 9781541556812
Release: 2019
Editor: Darby Creek (Tm)

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

High school senior Ollie discovers a ghost haunting a cross country track through the woods and, with his best friend and teammate, Nate, decides to lay it to rest.

The Ghost World

The Ghost World
Available:
Author: T.F Thiselton Dyer
Pages: 188
ISBN: 9783752394511
Release: 2020-08-02
Editor: BoD – Books on Demand

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Reproduction of the original: The Ghost World by T.F Thiselton Dyer

The Ghost Bus

The Ghost Bus
Available:
Author: Anthony Masters
Pages: 48
ISBN: 9780750270793
Release: 2012-03-22
Editor: Wayland

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

These ghostly adventures and spine-chilling stories are great for reads for reluctant readers. Written by well-known authors and illustrated by much-loved illustrators, this series will appeal to boys and girls.

The Ghost Of Dervil

The Ghost Of Dervil
Available:
Author: Daniele Pezzano
Pages: 329
ISBN: 9791220253949
Release: 2021-01-21
Editor: Daniele Pezzano

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The knight of the rose Aramus Folken struggles to reach the city of Dervil, but new dangers lurk along the way. Meanwhile, Xavier prepares for his journey to freedom.

The Ghost seer Or Apparitionist

The Ghost seer  Or  Apparitionist
Available:
Author: Friedrich Schiller
Pages: 242
ISBN: OXFORD:N11188369
Release: 1795
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Ghost Writer

The Ghost Writer
Available:
Author: John Harwood
Pages: 369
ISBN: UVA:X004765877
Release: 2004
Editor: Houghton Mifflin

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Plagued with unpleasant memories of his mother's death, shy Gerard Freeman is obsessed with the manuscript of a century old ghost story written by his great-grandmother and entrusted to his care. 50,000 first printing.

The Ghost of S W 1

The Ghost of S W 1
Available:
Author: Patricia Welles
Pages: 286
ISBN: 0917657519
Release: 1986
Editor: E P Dutton

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Lavinia Cross, an American television researcher, arrives in England to prepare a program about ghosts, and discovers she has an unexpected talent as a medium

The Ghost of the Chattering Bones

The Ghost of the Chattering Bones
Available:
Author: Gertrude Chandler Warner
Pages: 128
ISBN: 9780807597507
Release: 2005-03-01
Editor: Albert Whitman & Company

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Alden children knew they would be investigating a mystery at Eton Place, but they had no idea there would be a ghost there, too! An old family friend, Norah Eton, believes there is a valuable piece of jewelry hidden somewhere on her property.