What S The Big Deal by Stan Jones

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : NavPress
Release : 2019-08-06
ISBN-13 : 9781631469541
Hardcover : 112 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

One Million Copies Sold in Series! Christian Book Award: ECPA Medallion of Excellence Your kids know about sex. But what they’ve gathered from TV, other kids, or the internet doesn’t tell them everything or answer all of their questions. What’s the Big Deal? was written to help parents provide the answers to their 8-to-12-year-olds. This book explains the basic facts about sex and related issues such as: Why God made adults so that they want to have sex What God actually says in the Bible about sex and why it’s designed for marriage The amazing changes ahead of you during puberty How to respond when you feel sexual pressure from friends, TV shows, movies, and magazines Your kids can read this book with you so you can discuss it together. This provides them the safe space to ask hard questions they might find embarrassing. The book will help kids understand what a beautiful and exciting gift from God sexuality is meant to be. Now revised and updated with: Separate chapters on puberty for boys and girls A chapter on the dangers of pornography An expanded age range (formerly 8 to 11, now 8 to 12)

What S The Big Deal by Council of Canadians

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1988
ISBN-13 : OCLC:932779203
Hardcover : 34 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

What S The Big Deal About Lyme by Thaiadora Katsos-Dorow

Genre :
Editor : Lulu.com
Release : 2013-08-03
ISBN-13 : 1105827887
Hardcover : 206 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A diary kept by a former school administrator whose life, along with those of her two young children, has been severely affected by Lyme disease.

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2017-05-02
ISBN-13 : 9780399547256
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the Constitution to civil rights, from women's rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname "land of the free." It’s a “free country”! Why? Because in America we're free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again – but it wasn’t always easy! Did you know that Henry “Box” Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school? This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free. Find out how they did it and why standing up for the “land of the free” is such a big deal! Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We're Writing the Constitution – and a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy. Praise for What's the Big Deal About Freedom: "Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America." --Booklist "An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom." --School Library Journal

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2019-06-18
ISBN-13 : 9781524738044
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From Native American traditions to immigrant inventions, from diversity to democracy, from ice cream cones to apple pie, this picture book is filled with fun facts and historical trivia, celebrating the melting pot and mosaic that is America. Did you know that the inventor of American cheese actually came from Canada? Or that founding father Benjamin Franklin was inspired to create a democratic society by a confederacy of Native American tribes who came together to stop their constant warring? How about that both "God Bless America" and "White Christmas" were written by Irving Berlin, a Russian Jew who fled to the U.S. because of persecution back home? People have come to America from many different countries, in many different ways, for many different reasons. Americans have many different beliefs, different languages, and different traditions. But even with all of these differences, America comes together with the understanding that our country and government is "of the people, by the people, and for the people." And there's nothing more American than that.

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2018-08-28
ISBN-13 : 9781524738082
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From ballots to bonfires, from suffrage to stumping, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows why voting is so important and why America gets to call its government a body of, by, and for the people. Did you know that Election Day is on Tuesday because that was the best day for farmers to vote? Or that George Washington was our only elected president who ran unopposed? Or that Native Americans were only given the right to vote in 1924? It's all true! We hear a lot about political campaigns on the news, but there's tons to know about elections beyond the politics of each race. Who gets to vote? Who gets to run? What do elected officials do once they're in office--and what do candidates do if they lose? Why do people fight so hard for the right to vote? In this kid-friendly, fact-filled book, young readers will find out how Americans choose their leaders, local and federal, and why elections should matter to them, even if they can't vote (yet)! Praise for What's the Big Deal About Elections: "An informative introduction to the importance of voting, and a great choice for group reading choice before election season." --School Library Journal "An empowering choice." --Kirkus Reviews "This latest entry into the What's the Big Deal about . . . series is an upbeat discussion starter." --Booklist

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2019-06-18
ISBN-13 : 9781524738044
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From Native American traditions to immigrant inventions, from diversity to democracy, from ice cream cones to apple pie, this picture book is filled with fun facts and historical trivia, celebrating the melting pot and mosaic that is America. Did you know that the inventor of American cheese actually came from Canada? Or that founding father Benjamin Franklin was inspired to create a democratic society by a confederacy of Native American tribes who came together to stop their constant warring? How about that both "God Bless America" and "White Christmas" were written by Irving Berlin, a Russian Jew who fled to the U.S. because of persecution back home? People have come to America from many different countries, in many different ways, for many different reasons. Americans have many different beliefs, different languages, and different traditions. But even with all of these differences, America comes together with the understanding that our country and government is "of the people, by the people, and for the people." And there's nothing more American than that.

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2017-01-03
ISBN-13 : 9780399547294
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small. Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady? It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History...And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children. Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies: ★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review "This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal "Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist

Genre : Religions
Editor : Harvest House Publishers
Release : 2008-03-01
ISBN-13 : 9780736934701
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Authors John Ankerberg and Dillon Burroughs continue their exciting What's the Big Deal? series with concise, informative answers to the many questions people are asking about the major religious groups in the world. The groups in this book are so widespread that readers are likely to encounter their followers in their own neighborhoods, schools, and workplaces. Which makes it important to understand what they believe, and why. Included in this volume are Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Mormonism, and the Jehovah's Witnesses. And for each group, readers will discover... the origins and history the key teachings and leaders the major writings the traditions and special observances how they differ from Christianity Ankerberg and Burroughs are masterful at focusing on the key essentials readers need to know. And they include many exclusive interviews with experts, as well as numerous fascinating insights--all of which makes for compelling reading.

What S The Big Deal About Pornography by Jill Christine Manning

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor :
Release : 2008
ISBN-13 : 1590388534
Hardcover : 191 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Dr. Manning speaks directly to the young people she calls the internet generation. She discusses such topics as: What is pornography? How does pornography affect people? Can pornography teach me things about sexuality that I need to know in the