Treyf by Elissa Altman

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2016-09-20
ISBN-13 : 9780698182127
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the Washington Post columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of Poor Man’s Feast comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction... Treyf: According to Leviticus, unkosher and prohibited, like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit. Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets. While the suburban promise of The Brady Bunch blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, Treyf captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past. From the Hardcover edition.

Jew by Cynthia M. Baker

Genre : Social Science
Editor : Rutgers University Press
Release : 2017-01-13
ISBN-13 : 9780813573861
Hardcover : 208 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Jew. The word possesses an uncanny power to provoke and unsettle. For millennia, Jew has signified the consummate Other, a persistent fly in the ointment of Western civilization’s grand narratives and cultural projects. Only very recently, however, has Jew been reclaimed as a term of self-identification and pride. With these insights as a point of departure, this book offers a wide-ranging exploration of the key word Jew—a term that lies not only at the heart of Jewish experience, but indeed at the core of Western civilization. Examining scholarly debates about the origins and early meanings of Jew, Cynthia M. Baker interrogates categories like “ethnicity,” “race,” and “religion” that inevitably feature in attempts to define the word. Tracing the term’s evolution, she also illuminates its many contradictions, revealing how Jew has served as a marker of materialism and intellectualism, socialism and capitalism, worldly cosmopolitanism and clannish parochialism, chosen status, and accursed stigma. Baker proceeds to explore the complex challenges that attend the modern appropriation of Jew as a term of self-identification, with forays into Yiddish language and culture, as well as meditations on Jew-as-identity by contemporary public intellectuals. Finally, by tracing the phrase new Jews through a range of contexts—including the early Zionist movement, current debates about Muslim immigration to Europe, and recent sociological studies in the United States—the book provides a glimpse of what the word Jew is coming to mean in an era of Internet cultures, genetic sequencing, precarious nationalisms, and proliferating identities.

Presidential Campaign Activities Of 1972 Senate Resolution 60 by United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities

Genre : Presidents
Editor :
Release : 1973
ISBN-13 : SRLF:AA0006912992
Hardcover : 12966 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Kellogg Arabians by Herbert Harshman Reese

Genre : Arabian horse
Editor :
Release : 1958
ISBN-13 : WISC:89031313208
Hardcover : 222 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Treyf Pesach by Hilton Obenzinger

Genre : Poetry
Editor :
Release : 2017-07-15
ISBN-13 : 1943209162
Hardcover : 114 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Poetry. Jewish Studies. Blasphemy is holy--and exciting, outrageous literature in TREYF PESACH (Unkosher Passover). Novelist Paul Auster declares that this book "strikes with all the force of an exploding bomb--because it speaks the truth." This collection of poems presents radical departures from traditional rituals, formats and conventions: alternative Passover Seders, Yom Kippur liturgy, Thanksgiving prayers, psalms and other poems in the form of proclamations, resolutions, jazz improvisations, incantations, rants, orations, comic monologues, oil spills, life spills, songs, visions, undocumented documents, borders, suns, farewells, minutes of meetings, talk-stories, and all accompanied by provocative drawings of Treyf Passover Seder plates by artist Charles Steckler. In this book the symbolic plate is arrayed with treyf (un-kosher food) and the story of the Exodus with untypical meanings, whiskey instead of wine, recounting the continual slavery of wars and military occupations. The poems in TREYF PESACH have taken place over the course of years and various occasions, from vicious aggressions, to absurd walls, to smallpox blankets, to oil spouting across the Gulf, and more, all framed by the first months of the Trump regime. Some have been read out loud at Seders, Yom Kippur services, Thanksgiving Day benedictions, Sunday fellowships, and other ceremonies. But those are the exceptions. For the most part TREYF PESACH has been placed under arrest and shoved across the borders of respectability. Hilton Obenzinger writes poetry, fiction, history, and criticism, and is the recipient of the American Book Award. According to poet Diane di Prima, "he is the American Jonathan Swift."

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1979
ISBN-13 : UCAL:B3811512
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Born To Kvetch by Michael Wex

Genre : Social Science
Editor : St. Martin's Press
Release : 2007-04-01
ISBN-13 : 1429909900
Hardcover : 320 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

As the main spoken language of the Jews for more than a thousand years, Yiddish has had plenty to lament, plenty to conceal. Its phrases, idioms, and expressions paint a comprehensive picture of the mind-set that enabled the Jews of Europe to survive a millennium of unrelenting persecution: they never stopped kvetching---about God, gentiles, children, food, and everything (and anything) else. They even learned how to smile through their kvetching and express satisfaction in the form of complaint. In Born to Kvetch, Michael Wex looks at the ingredients that went into this buffet of disenchantment and examines how they were mixed together to produce an almost limitless supply of striking idioms and withering curses (which get a chapter all to themselves). Born to Kvetch includes a wealth of material that's never appeared in English before. You'll find information on the Yiddish relationship to food, nature, divinity, and humanity. There's even a chapter about sex. This is no bobe mayse (cock-and-bull story) from a khokhem be-layle (idiot, literally a "sage at night" when no one's looking), but a serious yet fun and funny look at a language that both shaped and was shaped by those who spoke it. From tukhes to goy, meshugener to kvetch, Yiddish words have permeated and transformed English as well. Through the idioms, phrases, metaphors, and fascinating history of this kvetch-full tongue, Michael Wex gives us a moving and inspiring portrait of a people, and a language, in exile.

The Book Of Jewish Practice by Louis Jacobs

Genre : Religion
Editor : Behrman House, Inc
Release : 1987
ISBN-13 : 0874414601
Hardcover : 150 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Illustrations. explanations of why certain things are done in a particular way, contemporary applications and information on how to do things is thus made available.

Genre : Gay liberation movement
Editor :
Release : 1999-05
ISBN-13 : NWU:35556030867436
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Encyclopedia by Richard Horn

Genre : Bohemianism
Editor :
Release : 1969
ISBN-13 : UCAL:B4446900
Hardcover : 157 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet