Thou Shalt Not Be A Jerk by Eugene Cho

Genre : Religion
Editor : David C Cook
Release : 2020-03-01
ISBN-13 : 9780830778911
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

According to Eugene Cho, Christians should never profess blind loyalty to a party. Any party. But they should engage with politics, because politics inform policies which impact people. In Thou Shalt Not Be a Jerk: A Christian’s Guide to Engaging Politics, Cho encourages readers to remember that hope arrived—not in a politician, system, or great nation—but in the person of Jesus Christ. With determination and heart, Cho urges readers to stop vilifying those they disagree with—especially the vulnerable—and asks Christians to follow Jesus and reflect His teachings. In this book that integrates the pastoral, prophetic, practical, and personal, readers will be inspired to stay engaged, have integrity, listen to the hurting, and vote their convictions. “When we stay in the Scriptures, pray for wisdom, and advocate for the vulnerable, our love for politics, ideology, philosophy, or even theology, stop superseding our love for God and neighbor.”

Thou Shalt Not Be A Jerk by Eugene Cho

Genre : Religion
Editor : David C Cook
Release : 2020-03
ISBN-13 : 0781411157
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In a confusing and hostile political climate, this book seeks to help Christians engage with politics while rooting themselves in faith and discipleship, remembering what's really at stake and continually pushing to seek Jesus first.

Overrated by Eugene Cho

Genre : Religion
Editor : David C Cook
Release : 2014-09-01
ISBN-13 : 9780781412360
Hardcover : 240 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"It can be fashionable to talk about the poor but not as fashionable to talk to the poor. It may be popular to talk about justice and still not know any victims of injustice. But we will never make poverty history until we make poverty personal. Eugene Cho shatters all our hipster coffee-shop talk of justice and dares you to dive into the trenches and do something real with your life." Shane Claiborne, author, activist, and friend of Eugene Cho "A gutsy and gritty exposé on the motives of a generation in love with the idea of saving the world, Overrated by Eugene Cho is a necessary exercise for all who desire to truly be a part of the change God wants to bring to humanity. This book is real, personal, necessary, and a must-read, so we can all continue on the path toward justice for all." Louie Giglio, Passion City Church/Passion Conferences "When you're done talking about the gospel and are ready for your walking to be the gospel: Start here. I needed this book." Ann Voskamp, author of the New York Times bestseller One Thousand Gifts Many people today talk about justice, but are they living justly? They want to change the world, but are they being changed themselves? Eugene Cho has a confession: "I like to talk about changing the world but I don't really like to do what it takes." If this is true of the man who founded the One Day's Wages global antipoverty movement, then what must it take to act on one's ideals? Cho does not doubt the sincerity of those who want to change the world. But he fears that today's wealth of resources and opportunities could be creating "the most overrated generation in history. We have access to so much but end up doing so little." He came to see that he, too, was overrated. As Christians, Cho writes, "our calling is not simply to change the world but to be changed ourselves." In Overrated, Cho shows that it is possible to move from talk to action.

Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2012-04-12
ISBN-13 : 9781101561768
Hardcover : 336 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the award-winning author of Five Flavors of Dumb comes a novel featuring one crazy road trip full of rejection, redemption, and romance. Perfect for fans of John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines, or Sara Zarr’s Once Was Lost. Sixteen-year-old Luke’s self-help book Hallelujah has become a national bestseller and his publisher is sending him on a cross-country book tour along the historic Route 66. Unfortunately for Luke, his irresponsible older brother Matt is coming along as chauffeur. When Matt offers to drive Luke’s ex-crush, Fran, across the country too, things really get crazy. In this journey of self-discovery, Luke has to loosen up and discover what it truly means to have faith to win the girl he loves. "A highly readable balance of humor, heart, self-discovery, and shenanigans."—BCCB "Christian values are conveyed with humor, devoid of potentially preachy pitfalls."—School Library Journal "Features multifaceted teens whose faith is integrated with their thinking but doesn't define them completely . . . [A]n upbeat read with a unique premise, great settings, and just a little more."—Booklist

Genre : Religion
Editor : Moody Publishers
Release : 2020-06-02
ISBN-13 : 9780802498687
Hardcover : 192 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Daily Devotions for People Who Hate Daily Devotions Let’s face it. A lot of Christian resources can feel cheesy, out-of-touch, and a little boring. But when Skye Jethani started doodling and writing up some of his thoughts about God, his Twitter and email list blew up. What If Jesus Was Serious? is a compilation of all-new reflections (and hand-drawn doodles) from Skye. He takes a look at some of Jesus’ most demanding teachings in the Sermon on the Mount and pushes us to ask whether we’re really hearing what Christ is saying. The visual component of the book makes it memorable and enjoyable to read, and Skye’s incisive reflections make it worthwhile for any Christian. If you’ve traditionally been dissatisfied with Christian devotional resources but love to learn about Jesus and think deeply, this book was written for you.

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson Incorporated
Release : 1993
ISBN-13 : 0840775962
Hardcover : 249 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Be aware when you are being manipulated or abused; understand how your past can influence your reactions to people now; identify your own 'jerk' tendencies; develop and nurture mature relationships based on respect."--Cover.

Left Right Christ by Lisa Sharon Harper

Genre : Religion
Editor : Elevate Publishing
Release : 2016-08-09
ISBN-13 : 9781943425761
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

How can two people have a common faith but different political loyalties? How does the Christian faith shape how we should vote and participate in the political process? In this updated edition of Left, Right, and Christ, authors D.C. Innes and Lisa Sharon Harper discuss and explore how the Christian faith speaks directly to American politics today, but with different understanding and applications. They address questions like: Does God care about politics? Should we? Is it the government's role to take care of the sick? Do legalized abortions increase the number of abortions? Should we support people's freedom to choose a definition of marriage, even if we disagree with their choice? Does a free country mean that everyone is free to come here? Is the earth so fragile that the government should step in to protect it? Harper and Innes craft compelling chapters on hot issue that will keep Christian Americans thinking about how to navigate the intersection of faith and politics.

I Think You Re Wrong But I M Listening by Sarah Stewart Holland

Genre : Self-Help
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2019-02-05
ISBN-13 : 9781400208425
Hardcover : 224 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“Sarah and Beth are an absolute gift to our culture right now. Not only do they offer balanced perspectives from each political ideology, but they teach us how to dialogue well, without sacri­ficing our humanity.” —Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author, speaker, and founder of Legacy Collective “Sarah from the left and Beth from the right serve as our guides through conflict and complexity, delivering us into connection. I wish every person living in the United States would read this compelling book, from the youngest voter to those holding the highest office.” —Emily P. Freeman, Wall Street Journal bestselling author of Simply Tuesday and The Next Right Thing More than ever, politics seems driven by conflict and anger. People sitting together in pews every Sunday have started to feel like strangers, loved ones at the dinner table like enemies. Toxic political dialogue, hate-filled rants on social media, and agenda-driven news stories have become the new norm. It’s exhausting, and it’s too much. In I Think You’re Wrong (But I’m Listening), two working moms from opposite ends of the political spectrum contend that there is a better way. They believe that we can choose to respect the dignity of every person, choose to recognize that issues are nuanced and can’t be reduced to political talking points, choose to listen in order to understand, choose gentleness and patience. Sarah from the left and Beth from the right invite those looking for something better than the status quo to pull up a chair and listen to the principles, insights, and practical tools they have learned hosting their fast-growing podcast Pantsuit Politics. As impossible as it might seem, people from opposing political perspectives truly can have calm, grace-­filled conversations with one another—by putting relationship before policy and understanding before argument.

The Liturgy Of Politics by Kaitlyn Schiess

Genre : Religion
Editor : InterVarsity Press
Release : 2020-09-08
ISBN-13 : 9780830853403
Hardcover : 216 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A generation of young Christians are weary of the political legacy they've inherited. Could it be that the church's politics are shaped by its habits and practices? Contending that we must recognize the formative power of the political forces around us, Kaitlyn Schiess urges the church to recover historic Christian practices that shape us according to the truth of the gospel.

Jesus For President by Shane Claiborne

Genre : Religion
Editor : Harper Collins
Release : 2009-08-30
ISBN-13 : 9780310862703
Hardcover : 368 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Jesus for President is a radical manifesto to awaken the Christian political imagination, reminding us that our ultimate hope lies not in partisan political options but in Jesus and the incarnation of the peculiar politic of the church as a people 'set apart' from this world. In what can be termed lyrical theology, Jesus for President poetically weaves together words and images to sing (rather than dictate) its message. It is a collaboration of Shane Claiborne's writing and stories, Chris Haw's reflections and research, and Chico Fajardo-Heflin's art and design. Drawing upon the work of biblical theologians, the lessons of church history, and the examples of modern-day saints and ordinary radicals, Jesus for President stirs the imagination of what the Church could look like if it placed its faith in Jesus instead of Caesar. A fresh look at Christianity and empire, Jesus for President transcends questions of 'Should I vote or not?' and 'Which candidate?' by thinking creatively about the fundamental issues of faith and allegiance. It's written for those who seek to follow Jesus, rediscover the spirit of the early church, and incarnate the kingdom of God.