The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Albert Camus
Pages: 144
ISBN: 9780307827661
Release: 2012-08-08
Editor: Vintage

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

With the intrigue of a psychological thriller, Camus's masterpiece gives us the story of an ordinary man unwittingly drawn into a senseless murder on an Algerian beach. Behind the intrigue, Camus explores what he termed "the nakedness of man faced with the absurd" and describes the condition of reckless alienation and spiritual exhaustion that characterized so much of twentieth-century life. First published in 1946; now in translation by Matthew Ward.

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Harlan Coben
Pages: 464
ISBN: 9780451414137
Release: 2016-02-09
Editor: Penguin Random House

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

"The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is undeniable. Then he whispers a few words in your ear and disappears, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world." --Amazon.com.

Albert Camus The Stranger

Albert Camus  The Stranger
Available:
Author: Patrick McCarthy
Pages: 109
ISBN: 0521338514
Release: 1988
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Describes the historical background of Camus' novel, discusses its themes, and compares the viewpoints of Camus and Sartre

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Albert Camus
Pages: 144
ISBN: 9781681771809
Release: 2016-06-07
Editor: Simon and Schuster

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The day his mother dies, Meursault notices that it is very hot on the bus that is taking him from Algiers to the retirement home where his mother lived; so hot that he falls asleep.Later, while waiting for the wake to begin, the harsh electric lights in the room make him extremely uncomfortable, so he gratefully accepts the coffee the caretaker offers him and smokes a cigarette. The same burning sun that so oppresses him during the funeral walk will once again blind the calm, reserved Meursault as he walks along a deserted beach a few days later—leading him to commit an irreparable act.This new illustrated edition of Camus's classic novel The Stranger portrays an enigmatic man who commits a senseless crime and then calmly, and apparently indifferently, sits through his trial and hears himself condemned to death.

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: August von Kotzebue
Pages: 67
ISBN: BL:A0022327131
Release: 1799
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Saviour s Intercession and the Stranger s Prayer A Sermon on 1 Kings Viii 41 43

The Saviour s Intercession and the Stranger s Prayer  A Sermon  on 1 Kings Viii  41 43
Available:
Author: Septimus SEARS
Pages: 16
ISBN: BL:A0021547696
Release: 1847
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger in Lowell

The Stranger in Lowell
Available:
Author: John Greenleaf Whittier
Pages: 156
ISBN: UIUC:30112052134688
Release: 1845
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger Or Misanthropy and Repentance a Drama in Five Acts Faithfully Translated by George Papendick The Third Edition

The Stranger  Or  Misanthropy and Repentance  a Drama  in Five Acts  Faithfully Translated     by George Papendick     The Third Edition
Available:
Author: August Friedrich Ferdinand von KOTZEBUE
Pages: 96
ISBN: BL:A0023198291
Release: 1799
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger in Liverpool

The Stranger in Liverpool
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 315
ISBN: BL:A0021972363
Release: 1823
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Harold Bloom
Pages: 93
ISBN: 9780791098295
Release: 2008
Editor: Infobase Publishing

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

An overview of the novel features a biographical sketch of the author, a list of characters, a summary of the plot, and critical and analytical views of the work.

The Stranger s Guide Through Banbury and Neighbourhood With Steel Engravings Second Edition

The Stranger s Guide Through Banbury and Neighbourhood      With     Steel Engravings  Second Edition
Available:
Author: William Ponsonby JOHNSON
Pages: 24
ISBN: BL:A0018317895
Release: 1866
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger Albert Camus

The Stranger   Albert Camus
Available:
Author: Harold Bloom
Pages: 168
ISBN: 1438114222
Release: 2009
Editor: Infobase Publishing

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The condition of man is revealed as absurd in Camus's short novel.

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Shaun Best
Pages: 172
ISBN: 9780429857539
Release: 2019-06-03
Editor: Routledge

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

This book explores the concept of the stranger as a ‘modern’ social form, identifying the differing conceptions of strangerhood presented in the literature since the publication of Georg Simmel’s influential essay ‘The Stranger’, questioning the assumptions around what it means to be regarded as ‘strange’, and identifying the consequences of being labelled a stranger. Organised both chronologically and thematically, the book begins with Simmel’s major essays on the stranger and culminates with an analysis of Zygmunt Bauman’s thought on the subject, with each chapter introducing an idea or key theme initially discussed by Simmel before exploring the development of the theme in the work of others, including Schütz, Derrida, and Levinas. The stranger is an enduring concept across many disciplines and is central to contemporary debates about refugees, asylum, the nature of inclusion and exclusion, and the struggle for recognition. As such, this book will be of interest to scholars across the social sciences.

The Stranger from the Sea

The Stranger from the Sea
Available:
Author: Paul Binding
Pages: 352
ISBN: 9781468316438
Release: 2019-02-19
Editor: Abrams

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The dramatic and moving reimagination of the characters from Ibsen’s The Lady from the Sea, set in a 19th-century town that harbors many secrets After a ferocious storm shipwrecks young Norwegian sailor Hans Lyngstrand in the English Channel near Dengate, aspiring journalist Martin Bridges takes a job at the local newspaper. When Hans moves into Martin’s boardinghouse to convalesce and Martin interviews the young sailor for the paper, it upends Martin’s otherwise uneventful world. Hans tells him of the shipwreck—and of his encounter with a vicious sailor vowing to seek revenge, who Hans believes may still be alive. So begins a complex friendship between the two young men that will cause Martin to reexamine his relationships with everyone around him. In The Stranger from the Sea, the backstories Paul Binding creates for the characters of Ibsen’s classic The Lady from the Sea unfold in tandem with the secret romances, rivalries, and heartaches of a seemingly unremarkable town. The result is a lyrical and quietly captivating novel that will mesmerize readers from its opening pages.

THE STRANGER S NEW GUIDE THROUGH BOSTON AND VICINITY

THE STRANGER S NEW GUIDE THROUGH BOSTON AND VICINITY
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: UOMDLP:afj7520:0001.001
Release: 1869
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger Diaries

The Stranger Diaries
Available:
Author: Elly Griffiths
Pages: 304
ISBN: 9781328576088
Release: 2019-03-05
Editor: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

International Bestseller "This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end." —People “Utterly bewitching…As unforgettable as it is original.” —A.J. Finn “Goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting…I loved this book!” —Louise Penny Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House. Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clare’s colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holland’s most famous story, “The Stranger,” left by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with the storylines of her favorite literature. To make matters worse, the police suspect the killer is someone Clare knows. Unsure whom to trust, she turns to her closest confidant, her diary, the only outlet she has for her darkest suspicions and fears about the case. Then one day she notices something odd. Writing that isn't hers, left on the page of an old diary: Hallo Clare. You don’t know me. Clare becomes more certain than ever: “The Stranger” has come to terrifying life. But can the ending be rewritten in time?

The Outsider

The Outsider
Available:
Author: Albert Camus
Pages: 118
ISBN: OCLC:301261052
Release: 1982
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Harlan Coben
Pages: 400
ISBN: 9780698186200
Release: 2015-03-24
Editor: Penguin

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES! A secret destroys a man’s perfect life and sends him on a collision course with a deadly conspiracy in this shocking thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Harlan Coben. The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. Their identity is unknown. Their motives are unclear. Their information is undeniable. Then they whisper a few words in your ear and disappear, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world... Adam Price has a lot to lose: a comfortable marriage to a beautiful woman, two wonderful sons, and all the trappings of the American Dream: a big house, a good job, a seemingly perfect life. Then he runs into the Stranger. When he learns a devastating secret about his wife, Corinne, he confronts her, and the mirage of perfection disappears as if it never existed at all. Soon Adam finds himself tangled in something far darker than even Corinne's deception, and realizes that if he doesn't make exactly the right moves, the conspiracy he’s stumbled into will not only ruin lives—it will end them.

The Stranger

The Stranger
Available:
Author: Norman Whitney
Pages: 70
ISBN: 1405076623
Release: 2005-01-01
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

"The Stranger Woodend was a small, quiet village with no shops, no visitors. Then a stranger came and opened the Corner Shop. That summer, visitors came to Woodend. And customers came secretly to the shop. They wanted help and the stranger helped them." -- Cover.

The Gift of the Stranger

The Gift of the Stranger
Available:
Author: David Smith,David I. Smith,Barbara Maria Carvill
Pages: 233
ISBN: 0802847080
Release: 2000
Editor: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

A pioneering look at the implications of Christian faith for foreign language education. It has become clear in recent years that reflection on foreign language education involves more than questioning which methods work best. This new volume carries current discussions of the value-laden nature of foreign language teaching into new territory by exploring its spiritual and moral dimensions. David Smith and Barbara Carvill show how the Christian faith sheds light on the history, aims, content, and methods of foreign language education. They also propose a new approach to the field based on the Christian understanding of hospitality.