Genre : Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2017-06-06
ISBN-13 : 9781476778105
Hardcover : 320 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In World War I Paris, Opaline Duplessi, an employee at the famous La Fantasie Russie jewelry store, spends her time making trench watches for soldiers at the front, and mourning jewelry for the mothers, wives, and lovers of those who have fallen. People say that Opaline's creations are magical, a word she would rather not use. But she does have a rare gift, a form of lithomancy that allows her to translate the energy emanating from the stones and receive messages from beyond the grave. In her mind, she is not a mystic, but merely a messenger, giving voice to soldiers who died before they were able to properly express themselves to loved ones. Until one day, one of these fallen soldiers communicates a message directly to her, and Opaline sets off on a journey into the darkest corners of wartime Paris and across the English Channel, where the exiled Romanov dowager empress waits to discover the fate of her family. --

The Language Of Stones by Robert Carter

Genre : Fiction
Editor : HarperCollins UK
Release : 2011-07-14
ISBN-13 : 9780007398249
Hardcover : 592 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A rich and evocative tale set in a mythic 15th century Britain, to rival the work of Bernard Cornwell.

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2015-03-17
ISBN-13 : 9781476778068
Hardcover : 384 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Fleeing her abusive husband for her grandmother's mansion in Belle Époque Paris, Sandrine ignores warnings that the house is not safe and explores the occult underground with her architect lover before becoming possessed by a witch courtesan's spirit. By the New York Times best-selling author.

Genre : Health & Fitness
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 1994-12
ISBN-13 : 9780671872380
Hardcover : 208 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Argues that many symptoms are "messages" describing in physical terms emotions experienced in the body

The Secret Of The Stones by Ernest Dempsey

Genre : Fiction
Editor :
Release : 2012-12-10
ISBN-13 : 0988707209
Hardcover : 328 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"A tour thousand year old mystery lurks in the hills of Georgia. While investigating a strange series of ancient codes, an archaeologist vanishes, and a professor he entrusted with the secret is murdered. Former government agent, Sean Wyatt, learns of his friend's disappearance as well as the assassinations and must race against the clock to unravel the clues to the ancient mystery. But to save him, he will have to fight off highly trained mercenaries in hand to hand combat, violent shootouts, and high speed car chases through the Blue Ridge Mountains. And in the end, what he learns will change the history books as we know them."--

The Secrets Of Lost Stones by Melissa Payne

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Lake Union Publishing
Release : 2019-09
ISBN-13 : 1542006287
Hardcover : 336 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A soul-stirring novel about the bonds between mother and child and the redemption that comes with facing the past and letting it go. Thirty-two-year-old Jess Abbot has lost everything: her job, her apartment, and--most heart-wrenching--her eight-year-old son, Chance, to a tragic accident. Haunted by memories and grief, Jess packs what's left and heads for the small mountain town of Pine Lake, where she takes a position as caregiver to an eccentric old woman. A rumored clairvoyant, Lucy is strange but welcoming and immediately intuits Jess as a "loose end" in need of closure. But Jess isn't the only guest in Lucy's large Victorian home. There's also Star, a teenage runaway with a secret too painful to share. And the little boy with heart-shaped stones, who comes with a hope for reconciliation--and a warning. Soon Jess learns that she's not the only lost soul running from the ghosts of the past. She and Star have been brought together for a reason: to be saved by the very thing that destroyed them.

Stones On A Grave by Kathy Kacer

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Orca Book Publishers
Release : 2015-09-29
ISBN-13 : 9781459806610
Hardcover : 240 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Sara has never been out of the tiny town of Hope, Ontario, where she has been in an orphanage all her life. After a fire destroys the orphanage, clues about her parentage—a medical certificate and a Star of David—lead her to Germany. Despite her fears—she doesn’t speak the language, she knows no one in Germany, and she’s never been on an airplane—Sara arrives in Germany determined to explore her newly discovered Jewish heritage and solve the mystery of her parentage. What she encounters is a country still dealing with the aftermath of the Holocaust. With the help of a handsome, English-speaking German boy, she discovers the sad facts of her mother’s brief existence and faces the horrible truth about her father. Ultimately, the knowledge she gains opens up her world and leads her to a deeper understanding of herself. Part of the SECRETS—a series of seven linked novels that can be read in any order.

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2017-07-18
ISBN-13 : 9781476778129
Hardcover : 368 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In this riveting and richly drawn novel from “one of the master storytellers of historical fiction” (New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams), a talented young artist flees New York for the South of France after one of her scandalous drawings reveals a dark secret—and triggers a terrible tragedy. In the wake of a dark and brutal World War, the glitz and glamour of 1925 Manhattan shine like a beacon for the high society set, desperate to keep their gaze firmly fixed to the future. But Delphine Duplessi sees more than most. At a time in her career when she could easily be unknown and penniless, like so many of her classmates from L’École des Beaux Arts, in America she has gained notoriety for her stunning “shadow portraits” that frequently expose her subjects’ most scandalous secrets. Most nights Delphine doesn’t mind that her gift has become mere entertainment—a party trick—for the fashionable crowd. Then, on a snowy night in February, in a penthouse high above Fifth Avenue, Delphine’s mystical talent leads to a tragedy between two brothers. Devastated and disconsolate, Delphine renounces her gift and returns to her old life in the south of France where Picasso, Matisse, and the Fitzgeralds are summering. There, Delphine is thrust into recapturing the past. First by her charismatic twin brother and business manager Sebastian who attempts to cajole her back to work and into co-dependence, then by the world famous opera singer Emma Calvé, who is obsessed with the writings of the fourteenth-century alchemist Nicolas Flamel. And finally by her ex-lover Mathieu, who is determined to lure her back into his arms, unaware of the danger that led Delphine to flee Paris for New York five years before. Trapped in an ancient chateau where hidden knowledge lurks in the shadows, Delphine questions everything and everyone she loves the most—her art, her magick, her family, and Mathieu—in an effort to accept them as the gifts they are. Only there can she shed her fear of loving and living with her eyes wide open.

The Secret Journal by Otto Schafer

Genre : Fiction
Editor :
Release : 2019-11-15
ISBN-13 : 1734115491
Hardcover : 384 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Sixteen-year-old Garrett is beginning to realize that something is very wrong. Worrying about earning money for new running shoes, dodging the school bully, and enduring his stepfather's grueling bug-out training should be enough for any boy to deal with. But when Garrett Turek and his buddies find a disintegrating journal in the basement of an old Victorian, they realize there's a lot about their small Midwestern town they never knew. Turns out Petersburg, Illinois - home of the young Abraham Lincoln - has another history. . . a history that's been hidden from the world. Since the tragic loss of her mother, Breanne Moore has focused all her energy into one passion, archaeology. When her father, world-renowned archaeologist Dr. Charles Moore, is called to a mysterious dig site in Nova Scotia, Breanne is immersed in a treasure hunt that will make her question everything she knows. Could the Knights Templar really have hidden a treasure of untold riches on Oak Island, or could there be something else hidden, something long sought and never meant to be found? Little do the Moores know someone else searches. . . Someone ravenous for revenge. He has been searching for centuries and will stop at nothing to take back what was stolen. A prophecy will unite them and now Garrett, Breanne, and their loyal band of friends must stop a powerful force threatening to destroy the world. A coming-of-age story in the vein of Goonies and Stand by Me, with elements of Indiana Jones and The Magicians, this first book in an exciting new contemporary fantasy series is perfect for readers who like their archaeology mixed with magic and their suspense deepened by stories of friendship, family, and loyalty.

Stones From The River by Ursula Hegi

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2011-01-25
ISBN-13 : 9781439144763
Hardcover : 528 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the acclaimed author of Floating in My Mother’s Palm and Children and Fire, a stunning story about ordinary people living in extraordinary times—“epic, daring, magnificent, the product of a defining and mesmerizing vision” (Los Angeles Times). Trudi Montag is a Zwerg—a dwarf—short, undesirable, different, the voice of anyone who has ever tried to fit in. Eventually she learns that being different is a secret that all humans share—from her mother who flees into madness, to her friend Georg whose parents pretend he’s a girl, to the Jews Trudi harbors in her cellar. Ursula Hegi brings us a timeless and unforgettable story in Trudi and a small town, weaving together a profound tapestry of emotional power, humanity, and truth.