Every Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Algonquin Books
Release : 2009-05-12
ISBN-13 : 9781565129467
Hardcover : 292 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

An elderly widow discovers a new sense of purpose when a series of wayward young people come to stay in her Vermont home in this “truly engrossing novel” (Library Journal). Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles’s sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone. As grief settles in, Sarah’s mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of lost souls come seeking shelter in Sarah’s own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage. In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she thought her best years were behind her.

Save Me Italy by Taylor Isaac

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 2019-03-25
ISBN-13 : 1796994804
Hardcover : 238 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Pam's life doesn't work. What used to fit, doesn't. What she used to tolerate, she can't. What used to satisfy her, won't. How do other people seem to have it all figured out?As a talented artist, she's supposed to be living her dream life as a painter, not pushing pixels as a graphic designer for a boss who seems intent on pushing her own responsibilities onto her subordinates. But when a client pushes her too far in yet another cosmic I-told-you-so to remind her that she's not doing what she really wants to do, she finally gains the courage to quit her job to pursue her passion of painting.In search of a way forward, a "how to" road map to turn her painting into a profitable career, she enrolls in a prestigious art school in Italy. But what happens there instead sends her on an unintended and yet perfectly-fitting Soul-searching journey through the golden-green hills of the Tuscan countryside and herself.Save Me, Italy is a transformative story about letting go of the paths that cannot fulfill us and, most importantly, choosing to love and trust what's within us more than anything in the world.

The Runaway Wife by Dee MacDonald

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Bookouture
Release : 2018-04-24
ISBN-13 : 9781786813541
Hardcover : 350 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Vicar Of Wakefield by Oliver Goldsmith

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1884
ISBN-13 : OXFORD:590424580
Hardcover : 107 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Attack Of The Amazons by Gilbert L Morris

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Moody Publishers
Release : 1996-10-07
ISBN-13 : 1575678039
Hardcover : 175 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

How would the Sleepers rescue this beautiful woman, helpless against her foes, tied to a tree and facing certain death? After a successful ambush, the Seven Sleepers find that she is anything but helpless. She's Princess Merle, the fierce daughter of Fedor. God has sent the Seven Sleepers on another mission, this time deep into the jungle in search of the Tribe of Fedor. And are they in for a surprise! Enter this topsy-turvy world where the women are savage warriors and the men are little more than slaves. Meet a witch doctor who claims the dark god demands the Sleepers as a sacrifice, and a bushy-headed historian who holds the secrets of the past. Experience the thrill of battle as the Seven Sleepers join in the conflict, seeking to bring peace and lead these women warriors into the house of God.

Genre : Science
Editor : Springer
Release : 2017-06-16
ISBN-13 : 9783319429281
Hardcover : 1327 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This Handbook presents a complete and rigorous overview of the fundamentals, methods and applications of the multidisciplinary field of Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS), providing an exhaustive, one-stop reference work and a state-of-the-art description of GNSS as a key technology for science and society at large. All global and regional satellite navigation systems, both those currently in operation and those under development (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS, IRNSS/NAVIC, SBAS), are examined in detail. The functional principles of receivers and antennas, as well as the advanced algorithms and models for GNSS parameter estimation, are rigorously discussed. The book covers the broad and diverse range of land, marine, air and space applications, from everyday GNSS to high-precision scientific applications and provides detailed descriptions of the most widely used GNSS format standards, covering receiver formats as well as IGS product and meta-data formats. The full coverage of the field of GNSS is presented in seven parts, from its fundamentals, through the treatment of global and regional navigation satellite systems, of receivers and antennas, and of algorithms and models, up to the broad and diverse range of applications in the areas of positioning and navigation, surveying, geodesy and geodynamics, and remote sensing and timing. Each chapter is written by international experts and amply illustrated with figures and photographs, making the book an invaluable resource for scientists, engineers, students and institutions alike.

Genre : Computers
Editor : Cambridge University Press
Release : 2003-09-25
ISBN-13 : 0521642981
Hardcover : 628 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Table of contents

Democratizing Innovation by Eric von Hippel

Genre : Technology & Engineering
Editor : Mit Press
Release : 2006
ISBN-13 : 9780262720472
Hardcover : 204 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Innovation is rapidly becoming democratized. Users, aided by improvements in computer and communications technology, increasingly can develop their own new products and services. Eric von Hippel looks closely at this emerging system of user-centred innovation.

Genre : Computers
Editor : Springer
Release : 2016-07-28
ISBN-13 : 9783662498873
Hardcover : 922 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The book serves as a first introduction to computer programming of scientific applications, using the high-level Python language. The exposition is example and problem-oriented, where the applications are taken from mathematics, numerical calculus, statistics, physics, biology and finance. The book teaches "Matlab-style" and procedural programming as well as object-oriented programming. High school mathematics is a required background and it is advantageous to study classical and numerical one-variable calculus in parallel with reading this book. Besides learning how to program computers, the reader will also learn how to solve mathematical problems, arising in various branches of science and engineering, with the aid of numerical methods and programming. By blending programming, mathematics and scientific applications, the book lays a solid foundation for practicing computational science. From the reviews: Langtangen ... does an excellent job of introducing programming as a set of skills in problem solving. He guides the reader into thinking properly about producing program logic and data structures for modeling real-world problems using objects and functions and embracing the object-oriented paradigm. ... Summing Up: Highly recommended. F. H. Wild III, Choice, Vol. 47 (8), April 2010 Those of us who have learned scientific programming in Python ‘on the streets’ could be a little jealous of students who have the opportunity to take a course out of Langtangen’s Primer.” John D. Cook, The Mathematical Association of America, September 2011 This book goes through Python in particular, and programming in general, via tasks that scientists will likely perform. It contains valuable information for students new to scientific computing and would be the perfect bridge between an introduction to programming and an advanced course on numerical methods or computational science. Alex Small, IEEE, CiSE Vol. 14 (2), March /April 2012 “This fourth edition is a wonderful, inclusive textbook that covers pretty much everything one needs to know to go from zero to fairly sophisticated scientific programming in Python...” Joan Horvath, Computing Reviews, March 2015

The Willpower Instinct by Kelly McGonigal

Genre : Psychology
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2011-12-29
ISBN-13 : 9781101553732
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Based on Stanford University psychologist Kelly McGonigal's wildly popular course "The Science of Willpower," The Willpower Instinct is the first book to explain the new science of self-control and how it can be harnessed to improve our health, happiness, and productivity. Informed by the latest research and combining cutting-edge insights from psychology, economics, neuroscience, and medicine, The Willpower Instinct explains exactly what willpower is, how it works, and why it matters. For example, readers will learn: Willpower is a mind-body response, not a virtue. It is a biological function that can be improved through mindfulness, exercise, nutrition, and sleep. Willpower is not an unlimited resource. Too much self-control can actually be bad for your health. Temptation and stress hijack the brain's systems of self-control, but the brain can be trained for greater willpower Guilt and shame over your setbacks lead to giving in again, but self-forgiveness and self-compassion boost self-control. Giving up control is sometimes the only way to gain self-control. Willpower failures are contagious—you can catch the desire to overspend or overeat from your friends­­—but you can also catch self-control from the right role models. In the groundbreaking tradition of Getting Things Done, The Willpower Instinct combines life-changing prescriptive advice and complementary exercises to help readers with goals ranging from losing weight to more patient parenting, less procrastination, better health, and greater productivity at work.