The Granite Coast Murders by Jean-Luc Bannalec


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Minotaur Books
Release : 2021-04-20
ISBN-13 : 9781250753076
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Killing Tide by Jean-Luc Bannalec


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Minotaur Books
Release : 2020-02-04
ISBN-13 : 9781250173393
Hardcover : 320 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Killing Tide by Jean-Luc Bannalec is the fifth novel in the internationally bestselling Commissaire Dupin series. Deep sea fishers, dolphin researchers, smugglers, and an island shrouded in myth in the middle of the rough Atlantic ocean: Commissaire Dupin had sworn he would never again investigate on the ocean, but his fifth case takes him offshore, off the west coast of Brittany on a beautifully sunny day in June. He lands on the unique Île de Sein, populated by more rabbits than people, where the hairdresser arrives by boat and which was formerly inhabited by powerful witches and even the devil himself. In front of this impressive backdrop—between the islands of Molène, Ouessant, and the bay of Douarnenez—Dupin and his team follow a puzzling case that pushes them to their very limits.


Genre : Fiction
Editor : HarperCollins UK
Release : 2018-03-02
ISBN-13 : 9780008281168
Hardcover : 400 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A serial killer stalks the streets of Rome... A gripping debut crime novel and the first in a groundbreaking series, from a new star in British crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin.

Being Dead by Jim Crace


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Release : 2000-04-02
ISBN-13 : 142998015X
Hardcover : 192 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A haunting new novel about love, death, and the afterlife, from the author of Quarantine Baritone Bay, mid-afternoon. A couple, naked, married almost thirty years, are lying murdered in the dunes. "Their bodies had expired, but anyone could tell--just look at them--that Joseph and Celice were still devoted. For while his hand was touching her, curved round her shin, the couple seemed to have achieved that peace the world denies, a period of grace, defying even murder. Anyone who found them there, so wickedly disfigured, would nevertheless be bound to see that something of their love had survived the death of cells. The corpses were surrendered to the weather and the earth, but they were still a man and wife, quietly resting; flesh on flesh; dead, but not departed yet."

Death In Brittany by Jean-Luc Bannalec


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Minotaur Books
Release : 2015-06-30
ISBN-13 : 9781466867741
Hardcover : 320 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Roll over, Maigret. Commissaire Dupin has arrived."—M.C. Beaton Commissaire Georges Dupin, a cantankerous, Parisian-born caffeine junkie recently relocated from the glamour of Paris to the remote (if picturesque) Breton coast, is dragged from his morning croissant and coffee to the scene of a curious murder. The local village of Pont-Aven—a sleepy community by the sea where everyone knows one other and nothing much seems to happen—is in shock. The legendary ninety-one-year-old hotelier Pierre-Louis Pennec, owner of the Central Hotel, has been found dead. A picture-perfect seaside village that played host to Gaugin in the nineteenth century, Pont-Aven is at the height of its tourist season and is immediately thrown into uproar. As Dupin delves into the lives of the victim and the suspects, he uncovers a web of secrecy and silence that belies the village's quaint image. A delectable read, Jean-Luc Bannalec's Death in Brittany transports readers to the French coast, where you can practically smell the sea air and taste the perfectly cooked steak frites in an expertly crafted, page-turning mystery for fans of Martin Walker.

The Fleur De Sel Murders by Jean-Luc Bannalec


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Minotaur Books
Release : 2018-04-24
ISBN-13 : 9781466883130
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Commissaire Dupin is back in The Fleur de Sel Murders, this Brittany mystery from international bestselling author Jean-Luc Bannalec. The old salt farmers have always said that the violet scent of the Fleur de Sel at harvest time on the salt marshes of the Guérande Peninsula has been known to cause hallucinations. Commissaire Dupin also starts to believe this when he’s attacked out of the blue in the salt works. He had actually been looking forward to escaping his endless paperwork and taking a trip to the “white country” between the raging Atlantic Ocean and idyllic rivers. But when he starts snooping around mysterious barrels on behalf of Lilou Breval, a journalist friend, he finds himself unexpectedly under attack. The offender remains a mystery, and a short time later, Breval disappears without a trace. It is thanks to his secretary Nolwenn and the ambition of the prefect that Dupin is assigned to the case. But he won’t be working alone because Sylvaine Rose is the investigator responsible for the department—and she lives up to her name... What’s going on in the salt works? Dupin and Rose search feverishly for clues and stumble upon false alibis, massive conflicts of interest, personal feuds—and ancient Breton legends.

Rigged For Murder by Jenifer LeClair


Genre : Fiction
Editor :
Release : 2020-01-10
ISBN-13 : 1733608443
Hardcover : 238 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

High seas adventure turns to high stakes sleuthing when a beautiful but troubled homicide detective and a New England sea captain join forces in this award-winning mystery set on the coast of Maine. On leave from the Minneapolis Police Department after being shot, homicide detective Brie Beaumont has gone to Maine where she has family roots. She ships out on the Maine Wind for an early season cruise with Captain John DuLac and eight others. Caught in a gale, they anchor off remote and windswept Granite Island. When someone aboard is murdered, Brie must singlehandedly stage an investigation that moves from the ship to a small fishing village on the island. Plagued by flashbacks and fighting a growing attraction to Captain DuLac, Brie works to unravel a mystery that will place her directly in the path of a psychopathic killer. Filled with suspense, colorful characters, nautical lore, and a thread of romance, Rigged for Murder will captivate the most steadfast landlubber.

Murder On Brittany Shores by Jean-Luc Bannalec


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Minotaur Books
Release : 2016-10-11
ISBN-13 : 9781250142191
Hardcover : 384 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal-clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May, three bodies wash up on shore. At first glance the deaths appear accidental, but as the identities of the victims come to light, Commissaire Dupin is pulled back into action for a case of what seems to be cold-blooded murder. Ever viewed as an outsider in a region full of myths and traditions, Dupin finds himself drawn deep into the history of the land. To get to the bottom of the case, he must tangle with treasure hunters, militant marine biologists, and dangerous divers. The investigation leads him further into the perilous, beautiful world of Glénan, as he discovers that there's more to the picturesque islands than meets the eye. Steeped in the enchanting atmosphere of Brittany and peppered with wry humor, Murder on Brittany Shores is a superbly plotted mystery that marks the return of Jean-Luc Bannalec's international bestselling series starring the cantankerous, coffee-swigging Commissaire Dupin.

Patriotic Murder by Peter Stehman


Genre : HISTORY
Editor : U of Nebraska Press
Release : 2018-10
ISBN-13 : 9781640120983
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Robert Prager, a lonely German immigrant searching for the American dream, was probably the most shameful U.S. casualty of World War I. From coast to coast, Americans had been whipped into a patriotic frenzy by a steady diet of government propaganda and hate-mongering. In Collinsville, Illinois, an enraged, drunken mob hung Prager from a tree just after midnight on April 5, 1918. Coal miners in the St. Louis suburb would show the nation they were doing their patriotic part--that they, too, were fighting the fight. And who would stop them anyway? Not the alderman or businessmen who watched silently. Not the four policemen who let Prager from their custody, without drawing a weapon. And who would hold the mob leaders accountable? Certainly not the jury that took just ten minutes to acquit them, all while a band played "The Star-Spangled Banner" in the courthouse lobby. Peter Stehman sheds light on the era's hijacking of civil liberties and a forgotten crime some might say has fallen prey to "patriotic amnesia." Unfortunately, the lessons from Patriotic Murder on intolerance and hate still resonate today as anti-immigration rhetoric and über-nationalism have resurfaced in American political discussion a century later.

The Coast To Coast Murders by James Patterson


Genre : Fiction
Editor : Hachette UK
Release : 2020-09-21
ISBN-13 : 9780316457439
Hardcover : 576 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A detective and FBI agent join forces on what seems like an open-and-shut case -- but a new rash of killings sends them on a pulse-pounding race against time in this intense thriller. Michael and Megan Fitzgerald are siblings who share a terrifying past. Both adopted, and now grown -- Michael is a long-haul truck driver, Megan a college student majoring in psychology -- they trust each other before anyone else. They've had to. Their parents are public intellectuals, an Ivy League clinical psychologist and a renowned psychiatrist, and they brought up their adopted children in a rarefied, experimental environment. It sheltered them from the world's harsh realities, but it also forced secrets upon them, secrets they keep at all costs. In Los Angeles, Detective Garrett Dobbs and FBI Agent Jessica Gimble have joined forces to work a murder that seems like a dead cinch. Their chief suspect is quickly identified and apprehended --but then there's another killing just like the one they've been investigating. And another. And not just in Los Angeles -- the spree spreads across the country. The Fitzgerald family comes to the investigators' attention, but Dobbs and Gimble are at a loss -- if one of the four is involved, which Fitzgerald might it be? From coastal California to upstate New York, Dobbs and Gimble race against time and across state lines to stop an ingenious and deeply deranged killer -- one whose dark and twisted appetites put them outside the range of logic or experience.