The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2006-01-02
ISBN-13 : 9781416544661
Hardcover : 368 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family. When the money ran out, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town Rex had tried to escape. As the dysfunction escalated, the children had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they found the resources and will to leave home. Yet Walls describes her parents with deep affection in this tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life. -- From publisher description.

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2006-12-15
ISBN-13 : 1416550607
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts. MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, “nothing short of spectacular” (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world’s most gifted storytellers. The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family. The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered. The Glass Castle is truly astonishing—a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2005-03-01
ISBN-13 : 9780743247535
Hardcover : 288 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Reading Essentials Grades 6 Up by Kristine Brown

Genre : Education
Editor : Teacher Created Resources
Release : 2008-01
ISBN-13 : 9781420680577
Hardcover : 144 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Gizelle S Bucket List by Lauren Fern Watt

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2017-03-07
ISBN-13 : 9781501123658
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"The ... adventure of a 160-pound English mastiff and the twenty-something girl who grew up alongside her"--Amazon.com.

Record Of The Glass Castle by Osamu Tezuka

Genre : Comics & Graphic Novels
Editor : Digital Manga, Inc.
Release : 2017-04-19
ISBN-13 :
Hardcover : 234 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

IMMORTALITY, AT WHAT COST? In the Glass Mansion, a family has been frozen in cryosleep for 20 years under the orders of their patriarch. When the oldest son Ichirou awakes, he struggles to accept the reality that he has slept away 20 years of his life. Ichirou plans to exact revenge on those in his family that stole his life from him. As Shirou, the youngest brother, attempts to stop Ichirou, he becomes aware of the dangerous side effect of cryosleep that led to its national ban years ago. How far will Ichirou fall, and will Shirou be able to stop him? In Record of the Glass Castle, Osamu Tezuka tackles the great quandary of immortality at the cost of humanity, in a different, much darker light than he often does in his better-known masterpieces like Phoenix. In this tale, the search for humanity seems more hopeless than ever, tangled in hatred, greed, and lust. This one volume series is a must-read for the fans of Tezuka’s dark side, as well as those who can appreciate a story that won’t spell out all the answers.

Genre : Fiction
Editor : New Canadian Library
Release : 2016-01-05
ISBN-13 : 9781551999524
Hardcover : 124 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The final novel from one of the twentieth century’s greatest writers. Most of the Blackwoods are dead. They were poisoned by arsenic, and the suspected murderer – Constance Blackwood – still lives in their family estate. In fact, she never leaves. Nor does her Uncle Julian, who is confined to a wheelchair. The only person to leave the house is her sister, the third remaining Blackwood, Merricat, and even she keeps her visits to town to a minimum. The townsfolk don’t like the Blackwoods; understandable, when one of them could be a mass murderer. Constance, Merricat, and Julian maintain a semblance of a normal, if highly reclusive, life, aided – if Merricat is to be believed – by several magical wards and charm. But when one of these charms is disrupted, her estranged cousin Charles turns up for a visit, and threatens to throw the Blackwoods’ fragile peace into chaos. Penguin Random House Canada is proud to bring you classic works of literature in e-book form, with the highest quality production values. Find more today and rediscover books you never knew you loved.

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Lyrical Lit. Publishing
Release : 2015-04-21
ISBN-13 :
Hardcover : 551 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Get lost in an addictive fantasy adventure! A fan favorite, this boxed set lets you continue the adventures of The Land of Faerie with beloved characters, new addictions and never ending magic! This three-novel boxed set contains: Ever Wrath (A Dark Faerie Tale #4) History of Fire (A Dark Faerie Tale #5) Ever Dead (A Dark Faerie Tale #6) Ever Wrath: Shade rules as Queen of the Seelie Summer Court with her love, a Teleen Faerie named Dylan at her side. But, the dark court of Unseelie faeries will do everything in their power to rule the earth, including enslaving the human world. Arthas, the Unseelie Ancient King, has shattered the boundaries of Faerie and the human cities are filling with his evil, unearthly armies. History of Fire: Benton is human, but he walks the line between two worlds: the mundane and the supernatural; the commonplace and the extraordinary. As a rare Fire Elemental Warlock, he finds himself in trouble more often than he cares to admit. It doesn’t help that his sister is a Faery Queen of the Summer Seelie Court. This is Benton’s story as he makes his way between the mortal world and a world where magic reigns. Do you dare follow? Do you dare see what lurks just beyond the edge of perception? Ever Dead: Confronted by a warrior named Benton, who has the ability to disintegrate other beings with his flaming sword, Hank’s world continues to spiral away from reality. Especially when he inadvertently discovers a whole new world, unknown to most of humankind…along with the surprising realization that he is inescapably tied to this new and magical land. All three novels in one thrilling boxed set!

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2006-01-02
ISBN-13 : 9781416544661
Hardcover : 368 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family. When the money ran out, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town Rex had tried to escape. As the dysfunction escalated, the children had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they found the resources and will to leave home. Yet Walls describes her parents with deep affection in this tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life. -- From publisher description.

The Silver Star by Jeannette Walls

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2014-06-03
ISBN-13 : 9781451661545
Hardcover : 269 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Abandoned by their artist mother at the age of 12, Bean and her older sister, Liz, are sent to live in the decaying antebellum mansion of their widowed uncle, where they learn the truth about their parents and take odd jobs to earn extra money before an increasingly withdrawn Liz has a life-shattering experience. Reprint.