The Video Game Debate 2

The Video Game Debate 2
Available:
Author: Rachel Kowert,Thorsten Quandt
Pages: 134
ISBN: 9781000224283
Release: 2020-11-30
Editor: Routledge

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

This student-friendly book provides an accessible overview of the primary debates about the effects of video games. It expands on the original The Video Game Debate to address the new technologies that have emerged within the field of game studies over the last few years. Debates about the negative effects of video game play have been evident since their introduction in the 1970s, but the advent of online and mobile gaming has revived these concerns, reinvigorating old debates and generating brand new ones. The Video Game Debate 2 draws from the latest research findings from the top scholars of digital games research to address these concerns. The book explores key developments such as virtual and augmented reality, the use of micro-transactions, the integration of loot boxes, and the growth of mobile gaming and games for change (serious games). Furthermore, several new chapters explore contemporary debates around e-sports, gamification, sex and gender discrimination in games, and the use of games in therapy. This book offers students and scholars of games studies and digital media, as well as policymakers, the essential information they need to participate in the debate.

The Games of Skill and Conjuring

The Games of Skill  and Conjuring
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 128
ISBN: KBNL:KBNL03000054406
Release: 1861
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Player of Games

The Player of Games
Available:
Author: Iain M. Banks
Pages: 300
ISBN: 9780316095860
Release: 2009-12-01
Editor: Hachette UK

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Culture - a human/machine symbiotic society - has thrown up many great Game Players, and one of the greatest is Gurgeh. Jernau Morat Gurgeh. The Player of Games. Master of every board, computer and strategy. Bored with success, Gurgeh travels to the Empire of Azad, cruel and incredibly wealthy, to try their fabulous game...a game so complex, so like life itself, that the winner becomes emperor. Mocked, blackmailed, almost murdered, Gurgeh accepts the game, and with it the challenge of his life - and very possibly his death. Praise for Iain M. Banks: "Poetic, humorous, baffling, terrifying, sexy -- the books of Iain M. Banks are all these things and more" -- NME "An exquisitely riotous tour de force of the imagination which writes its own rules simply for the pleasure of breaking them." -- Time Out

Finite and Infinite Games

Finite and Infinite Games
Available:
Author: James Carse
Pages: 256
ISBN: 9781451657296
Release: 2011-10-11
Editor: Simon and Schuster

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

“There are at least two kinds of games,” states James Carse as he begins this extraordinary book. “One could be called finite; the other infinite.” Finite games are the familiar contests of everyday life; they are played in order to be won, which is when they end. But infinite games are more mysterious. Their object is not winning, but ensuring the continuation of play. The rules may change, the boundaries may change, even the participants may change—as long as the game is never allowed to come to an end. What are infinite games? How do they affect the ways we play our finite games? What are we doing when we play—finitely or infinitely? And how can infinite games affect the ways in which we live our lives? Carse explores these questions with stunning elegance, teasing out of his distinctions a universe of observation and insight, noting where and why and how we play, finitely and infinitely. He surveys our world—from the finite games of the playing field and playing board to the infinite games found in culture and religion—leaving all we think we know illuminated and transformed. Along the way, Carse finds new ways of understanding everything from how an actress portrays a role, to how we engage in sex, from the nature of evil, to the nature of science. Finite games, he shows, may offer wealth and status, power and glory. But infinite games offer something far more subtle and far grander. Carse has written a book rich in insight and aphorism. Already an international literary event, Finite and Infinite Games is certain to be argued about and celebrated for years to come. Reading it is the first step in learning to play the infinite game.

The Princess Trials

The Princess Trials
Available:
Author: Cordelia K. Castel
Pages: 504
ISBN: 9798642502532
Release: 2020-05-02
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Thirty young women. A handsome prince. A battle to the death Water is scarce. Deserts have taken over the land. Nuclear war has devastated humanity. Humans live in walled super cities to keep out the irradiated. The land that was formerly known as America is divided into kingdoms ruled by royal elites.Born into the lowest Echelon of the Kingdom of Phangloria, sixteen-year-old Zea Calico faces a life of hunger, thirst, and toil. The only way out of this drudgery is revolution, and Zea is desperate to help the cause. When the palace calls for candidates to compete to marry Prince Kevon, Zea joins the Princess Trials to search the palace for weaknesses. The trials should be a fairytale of sumptuous meals, ballgowns, and romance, but one misplaced word causes Zea to attract the Prince's attention. When Zea uncovers the man beneath Prince Kevon's public facade, she is at risk of falling in love and losing sight of her mission. But the televised beauty pageant turns deadly, and Zea must fight for survival.Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and The Selection, this exciting tale of courage, intrigue, and betrayal will have you turning pages.

The Games in the St Petersburg Tournament 1895 96

The Games in the St  Petersburg Tournament 1895 96
Available:
Author: James Mason,W. H. K. Pollock
Pages: 63
ISBN: WISC:89034874990
Release: 1896
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

American Chess Magazine

American Chess Magazine
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: HARVARD:HWRC35
Release: 1898
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The game of draughts simplified with an exposition of the theory of the move and its charges by J Paterson

The game of draughts simplified  with an exposition of the theory of the move and its charges  by J  Paterson
Available:
Author: Andrew Anderson
Pages: 329
ISBN: OXFORD:600082038
Release: 1878
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Games of Gunsberg s Chess Matches with Tchigorin and Steinitz Jan Feb 1890 Dec 1890 Jan 1891

The Games of Gunsberg s Chess Matches with Tchigorin and Steinitz  Jan  Feb  1890  Dec  1890 Jan  1891
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 66
ISBN: HARVARD:HN5RAV
Release: 1891
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Games 2

Games 2
Available:
Author: Youth Specialties,
Pages: 176
ISBN: 9780310862130
Release: 2011-03-01
Editor: Zondervan

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Nearly 400 more wild, creative games for guaranteed fun! - Baseball and Kickball Games . . . The national pastime is hereby turned on its ear by more nutty variations than you can shake a Louisville Slugger at. Plus other diamond games, like kickball. - Swimming Pool and Lake Games . . . Whether your water is a pond, pool, or Puget Sound, we've got contests, activities -- even a spectator Water Carnival (see page 117). - Wide Games . . . Got a few acres and a few hours to organize, strategize -- and then use stealth and cunning to infiltrate enemy lines, smuggle contraband through customs, or detect (and dispatch) aliens? These adventure games are perfect for camps and retreats! - Golf Games . . . You don't need manicured courses, motorized carts, or polyester pants. What you do need are people willing to golf with marshmallows, rubber bands, hula hoops, and croquet mallets. - Frisbee Games . . . Portable, ubiquitous, and supremely cool, flying discs hold hours of entertainment for your group. In fact, why not plan an entire day of Frisbee games? Plus . . . A bevy of relay races, outdoor games especially for large and small groups, 30-some soccer and hockey games, alternative football games, and enough water games (including water balloon games) to give your group a sopping good summertime! Whether you're a youth worker or recreation director in a church, school, club, or camp -- Games 2 is brimming with notoriously wild, creative, and youth-group tested games!

A Treatise on the Game of Chess

A Treatise on the Game of Chess
Available:
Author: William Lewis
Pages: 531
ISBN: KBNL:KBNL03000429269
Release: 1844
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Mr Blackburne s Games at Chess Selected Annotated and Arranged by Himself

Mr  Blackburne s Games at Chess  Selected  Annotated and Arranged by Himself
Available:
Author: Joseph Henry Blackburne
Pages: 331
ISBN: UOM:39015001686461
Release: 1899
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

How to Win at Nintendo 64 Games 2

How to Win at Nintendo 64 Games 2
Available:
Author: Hank Schlesinger
Pages: 257
ISBN: 9781250115850
Release: 2016-03-15
Editor: St. Martin's Paperbacks

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

This unofficial guide offers up-to-date hints to help fanatics as well as casual players win at N64 video games consistently. Each chapter contains basic information, such as ESRB ratings, characters, themes, and specific ways to score. Nintendo 64 games covered include WWF WarZone, NFL Blitz, Super Mario 64, and much more.

The Laws and Practice of the Game of Euchre

The Laws and Practice of the Game of Euchre
Available:
Author: Charles Henry Wharton Meehan
Pages: 124
ISBN: NYPL:33433066634787
Release: 1877
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Round Table

The Round Table
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: WISC:89067445163
Release: 1900
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Harvard Advocate

The Harvard Advocate
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: HARVARD:32044107293573
Release: 1874
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Commentaries on the Laws of England

Commentaries on the Laws of England
Available:
Author: Sir William Blackstone
Pages: 329
ISBN: UOM:35112102322429
Release: 1854
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Amateur Athlete

The Amateur Athlete
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: UIUC:30112004332141
Release: 1896
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

The Chess Player s Chronicle

The Chess Player s Chronicle
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: NYPL:33433066639356
Release: 1886
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK:

Westminster Chess Club Papers

Westminster Chess Club Papers
Available:
Author: Anonim
Pages: 329
ISBN: KBNL:KBNL03000429182
Release: 1874
Editor: Unknown

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOOK: