The Devil You Know by Charles M. Blow

Genre : Social Science
Editor : HarperCollins
Release : 2021-01-26
ISBN-13 : 9780062914682
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK: San Francisco Chronicle, O, the Oprah Magazine, Time Out, Town and Country, Lithub From journalist and New York Times bestselling author Charles Blow comes a powerful manifesto and call to action for Black Americans to amass political power and fight white supremacy. Race, as we have come to understand it, is a fiction; but, racism, as we have come to live it, is a fact. The point here is not to impose a new racial hierarchy, but to remove an existing one. After centuries of waiting for white majorities to overturn white supremacy, it seems to me that it has fallen to Black people to do it themselves. Acclaimed columnist and author Charles Blow never wanted to write a “race book.” But as violence against Black people—both physical and psychological—seemed only to increase in recent years, culminating in the historic pandemic and protests of the summer of 2020, he felt compelled to write a new story for Black Americans. He envisioned a succinct, counterintuitive, and impassioned corrective to the myths that have for too long governed our thinking about race and geography in America. Drawing on both political observations and personal experience as a Black son of the South, Charles set out to offer a call to action by which Black people can finally achieve equality, on their own terms. So what will it take to make lasting change when small steps have so frequently failed? It’s going to take an unprecedented shift in power. The Devil You Know is a groundbreaking manifesto, proposing nothing short of the most audacious power play by Black people in the history of this country. This book is a grand exhortation to generations of a people, offering a road map to true and lasting freedom.

The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2015-01-13
ISBN-13 : 9781476779089
Hardcover : 320 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In 1993, rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is obsessed with solving the 11-year-old murder of her best friend and, as she gets closer and closer to an unimaginable conclusion, she is convinced that the killer is still out there—and is coming for her. 60,000 first printing.

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2015-06-02
ISBN-13 : 9781619634176
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From critically-acclaimed author Trish Doller comes a powerful new psychological page-turner perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Sara Zarr. Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it's just the risk she's been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions. A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

The Devil You Know by Helen Brooks

Genre : Comics & Graphic Novels
Editor : Harlequin / SB Creative
Release : 2017-11-25
ISBN-13 : 9784596253859
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Sixteen-year-old Nina was introduced to Steed, her father’s best friend, at a party. This intimidating man gave Nina her first kiss, and she hoped to never, ever see him again. Five years later, Nina is shocked to learn that Steed is the executor of her father’s will. Finding herself burdened by the debts that her father left, she is more shocked to hear Steed’s marriage proposal. He offers a large amount of money if she is willing to take care of his nephews for ten years. Nina jumps at his favorable offer only to find that she’s landed herself in big trouble…

The Devil You Know by Erin Evans

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Wizards of the Coast
Release : 2016-10-04
ISBN-13 : 9780786966042
Hardcover : 448 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In the long-awaited finale of her riveting Brimstone Angels series, Erin M. Evans thrusts her signature character Farideh into an epic battle of good versus evil, rife with deception and intrigue, where the question is as much who is evil, as how they can be defeated. The stakes have never been higher, and the fallout will shake the Hells, and through them, the Forgotten Realms. Before Farideh took a devil's pact, before she was Chosen by the god-king of the Hells, before any of this started, there was Bryseis Kakistos, the original Brimstone Angel, first of Farideh's line. Now, at the end, there is also Bryseis Kakistos--but this time, instead of helping the king of the Hells achieve godhood, she's going to kill him. All she needs is a little help from Farideh--which she should, by all accounts, be happy to give. After all, who could object to killing the king of the Hells? Except, it turns out, Farideh. Because as always, things are far more complicated than they seem.

The Devil You Know by Jo Goodman

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2016-05-03
ISBN-13 : 9780698180857
Hardcover : 416 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the USA Today bestselling author of This Gun for Hire and one of today's “premier western romance writers,”* a captivating new Western historical romance . . . WHAT HE DOESN’T KNOW . . . After a horse drags him through the countryside, Israel McKenna awakes bruised and battered in a field in Pancake Valley, Colorado. He can recall where he came from and where he was going, but the memory of how he came to be on the Pancake homestead eludes him. He’s certain he did something wrong to deserve such a harsh punishment—and so is the beautiful woman who reluctantly comes to his aid. . . . COULD HURT HER. Wilhelmina “Willa” Pancake must focus on running her family’s ranch. With Israel’s hazy memory, she is unsure if she can trust him, let alone handle the budding attraction between them. And as men fight to steal her land and the truth about Israel’s past rides toward them, love is a risk she cannot easily take.

The Devil You Know by R. J. Carter

Genre : Fiction
Editor :
Release : 2020-07
ISBN-13 : 0578675331
Hardcover : 266 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Anthology of encounters with the Prince of Lies.

The Devil You Know by Sandra Brown

Genre : Romance fiction
Editor : MIRA
Release : 2009
ISBN-13 : 1741167736
Hardcover : 404 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

2-in-1 reissue from Sandra Brown: 'The Devil You Know' and 'The Thrill Of Victory'. In a terrifying race to save nine children, Kerry Bishop prepared for the fight of her life. But she wasn't prepared for a passion almost as dangerous as the mission she had undertaken. At first, Linc O'Neil appeared to be exactly the kind of man Kerry needed: strong, ruthless and definitely too drunk to care about helping her steal a truck to get past the guards. Then she discovered her mistake. Linc was not a hardened mercenary; the heavy gear he carried was not guns but cameras. She had hijacked a Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist. Now he was their last hope. Dependent on a stranger, Kerry refused to let unexpected desire complicate their mission. Survival was all they could think about. But if they succeeded, what then? Could Kerry tell him the truth: that she was no more a woman sworn to chastity than she was immune to the powerful effect he had on her? That she desired him more and more? If freedom came, would they be free to love?

The Devil You Know by Mike Carey

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Orbit
Release : 2007-07-10
ISBN-13 : 0446197173
Hardcover : 528 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Author of The Girl With All the Gifts Mike Carey presents the first book in his hip supernatural thriller series featuring freelance exorcist Felix Castor. Felix Castor is a freelance exorcist, and London is his stomping ground. It may seem like a good ghostbuster can charge what he likes and enjoy a hell of a lifestyle, but there's a risk: sooner or later he's going to take on a spirit that's too strong for him. When Castor accepts a seemingly simple ghost-hunting case at a museum in the shadowy heart of London, what should have been a perfectly straightforward exorcism is rapidly turning into the Who Can Kill Castor First Show, with demons and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's business as usual: Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off.... The Felix Castor NovelsThe Devil You KnowVicious CircleDead Men's BootsThicker than WaterThe Naming of the Beasts By the same author, writing as M. R. Carey: The Girl With All the Gifts Fellside The Boy on the Bridge

The Devil You Know by Jenn Farrell

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 2006
ISBN-13 : 192738074X
Hardcover : 130 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Devil You Know is the follow-up volume to Farrell's critically acclaimed debut collection, Sugar Bush & Other Stories. These stories deal with sex, love, work, birth, and death in alternately moving, shocking, funny, and at times devastating ways. Whether these characters are facing the death of a parent, bad love choices, the possibility of unwanted pregnancy, the rupture of friendships, teen violence, or the exploration of sado-masochistic sex, Farrell exposes their ticking cores and pulls the reader along every step of the way. Praise for The Devil You Know: ""Farrell excels at very sho.