Survival In Auschwitz by Primo Levi

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 1996
ISBN-13 : 9780684826806
Hardcover : 187 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The author describes his twenty month ordeal in the Nazi death camp.

Survival In Auschwitz by Primo Levi

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 1996
ISBN-13 : 9780684826806
Hardcover : 187 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The author describes his twenty month ordeal in the Nazi death camp.

The Tattooist Of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
Release : 2018-01-11
ISBN-13 : 9781785763663
Hardcover : 368 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The five million copy bestseller and one of the bestselling books of the 21st Century. Chosen for the Richard and Judy Bookclub. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. Don't miss Heather Morris's next book, Stories of Hope. Coming September 2020. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

By Chance Alone by Max Eisen

Genre : History
Editor : HarperCollins
Release : 2016-04-19
ISBN-13 : 9781443448550
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

WINNER of CBC Canada Reads In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor Finalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing. Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer. One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world. The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.

Genre : Authors, Italian
Editor : Boston : Little, Brown
Release : 1965
ISBN-13 : STANFORD:36105033702304
Hardcover : 222 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Genre : History
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2017-06-20
ISBN-13 : 9781501167638
Hardcover : 208 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In his final book before his death, Primo Levi returns once more to his time at Auschwitz in a moving meditation on memory, resiliency, and the struggle to comprehend unimaginable tragedy. Drawing on history, philosophy, and his own personal experiences, Levi asks if we have already begun to forget about the Holocaust. His last book before his death, Levi returns to the subject that would define his reputation as a writer and a witness. Levi breaks his book into eight essays, ranging from topics like the unreliability of memory to how violence twists both the victim and the victimizer. He shares how difficult it is for him to tell his experiences with his children and friends. He also debunks the myth that most of the Germans were in the dark about the Final Solution or that Jews never attempted to escape the camps. As the Holocaust recedes into the past and fewer and fewer survivors are left to tell their stories, The Drowned and the Saved is a vital first-person testament. Along with Elie Wiesel and Hannah Arendt, Primo Levi is remembered as one of the most powerful and perceptive writers on the Holocaust and the Jewish experience during World War II. This is an essential book both for students and literary readers. Reading Primo Levi is a lesson in the resiliency of the human spirit.

I Was A Doctor In Auschwitz by Gisella Perl

Genre : History
Editor : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2019-02-28
ISBN-13 : 9781498583930
Hardcover : 140 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Gisella Perl’s memoir is an extraordinarily candid account of women’s extreme efforts to survive Auschwitz. It was the first memoir by a woman survivor and established the model for understanding the gendered Nazi policies and practices targeting Jewish women as racially poisonous.

The Era Of The Witness by Annette Wieviorka

Genre : History
Editor : Cornell University Press
Release : 2006
ISBN-13 : 0801443318
Hardcover : 168 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

What is the role of survivor testimony in Holocaust remembrance? Today such recollections are considered among the most compelling and important historical sources we have, but this has not always been true. In The Era of the Witness, a concise, rigorously argued, and provocative work of cultural and intellectual history, Annette Wieviorka seeks to answer this surpassingly complex question. She analyzes the conditions under which survivor testimonies have been produced, how they have been received over time, and how the testimonies shaped the construction of history and collective memory. Wieviorka discerns three successive phases in the evolution of the roles and images of the Holocaust witness. The first phase is marked by the testimony left by those who did not survive the Holocaust but managed nevertheless to record their experiences. The second, most important, phase is centered on the Eichmann trial, which for Wieviorka is the moment (1961–1962) when a broad cultural deafness to survivors' stories was replaced by the image of the witness as "bearer of history." The author follows the changing nature of the witness into a third phase, which she calls "the era of the witness." Especially concerned with the pedagogical and political uses to which survivor testimony has been put, Wieviorka examines factors that determine when and how survivor testimonies are incorporated into the larger narrative of the Holocaust, according it a privileged place in our understanding. By exploring the ways in which the Holocaust is remembered, The Era of the Witness also deepens our understanding of how testimony can help to define not only twentieth-century history but also more recent episodes of mass killing that are only now "becoming history."

Auschwitz Report by Primo Levi

Genre : History
Editor : Verso Books
Release : 2015-03-03
ISBN-13 : 9781781688052
Hardcover : 112 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Among the first written accounts of the concentration camps—a major literary and historical discovery. While in a Russian-administered holding camp in Katowice, Poland, in 1945, Primo Levi was asked to provide a report on living conditions in Auschwitz. Published the following year, it was subsequently forgotten and remained unknown to a wider public. Dating from the weeks and months immediately after the war, Auschwitz Report details the authors’ harrowing deportation to Auschwitz, and how those who disembarked from the train were selected for work or extermination. As well as being a searing narrative of everyday life in the camp, and the organization and working of the gas chambers, it constitutes Levi’s first lucid attempts to come to terms with the raw horror of events that would drive him to create some of the greatest works of twentieth-century literature and testimony. Auschwitz Report is a major literary and historical discovery. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Genre : History
Editor :
Release : 1986
ISBN-13 : UOM:39015046830967
Hardcover : 397 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The author's survival in Auschwitz and his travels through Eastern Europe and Russia are the subjects of this memoir.