Permanent Record by Edward Snowden

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Metropolitan Books
Release : 2019-09-17
ISBN-13 : 9781250237248
Hardcover : 352 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down. In 2013, twenty-nine-year-old Edward Snowden shocked the world when he broke with the American intelligence establishment and revealed that the United States government was secretly pursuing the means to collect every single phone call, text message, and email. The result would be an unprecedented system of mass surveillance with the ability to pry into the private lives of every person on earth. Six years later, Snowden reveals for the very first time how he helped to build this system and why he was moved to expose it. Spanning the bucolic Beltway suburbs of his childhood and the clandestine CIA and NSA postings of his adulthood, Permanent Record is the extraordinary account of a bright young man who grew up online—a man who became a spy, a whistleblower, and, in exile, the Internet’s conscience. Written with wit, grace, passion, and an unflinching candor, Permanent Record is a crucial memoir of our digital age and destined to be a classic.

Permanent Record by Mary H. K. Choi

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release : 2020-09-29
ISBN-13 : 9781534445987
Hardcover : 448 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A New York Times bestseller! “Smart and funny…warm and rewarding.” —Booklist (starred review) “A compelling and quirky tale of love and negotiating early adulthood in New York City.” —School Library Journal From the New York Times bestselling author of Emergency Contact, which Rainbow Rowell called “smart and funny,” comes a “captivating” (The New York Times) romance about how social media influences relationships every day. On paper, college dropout Pablo Rind doesn’t have a whole lot going for him. His graveyard shift at a twenty-four-hour deli in Brooklyn is a struggle. Plus, he’s up to his eyeballs in credit card debt. Never mind the state of his student loans. Pop juggernaut Leanna Smart has enough social media followers to populate whole continents. The brand is unstoppable. She graduated from child stardom to become an international icon, and her adult life is a queasy blur of private planes, step-and-repeats, aspirational hotel rooms, and strangers screaming for her just to notice them. When Leanna and Pablo meet at 5:00 a.m. at the bodega in the dead of winter it’s absurd to think they’d be A Thing. But as they discover who they are, who they want to be, and how to defy the deafening expectations of everyone else, Lee and Pab turn to each other. Which, of course, is when things get properly complicated.

Permanent Record by Mary H. K. Choi

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release : 2020-09-29
ISBN-13 : 9781534445987
Hardcover : 448 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A New York Times bestseller! “Smart and funny…warm and rewarding.” —Booklist (starred review) “A compelling and quirky tale of love and negotiating early adulthood in New York City.” —School Library Journal From the New York Times bestselling author of Emergency Contact, which Rainbow Rowell called “smart and funny,” comes a “captivating” (The New York Times) romance about how social media influences relationships every day. On paper, college dropout Pablo Rind doesn’t have a whole lot going for him. His graveyard shift at a twenty-four-hour deli in Brooklyn is a struggle. Plus, he’s up to his eyeballs in credit card debt. Never mind the state of his student loans. Pop juggernaut Leanna Smart has enough social media followers to populate whole continents. The brand is unstoppable. She graduated from child stardom to become an international icon, and her adult life is a queasy blur of private planes, step-and-repeats, aspirational hotel rooms, and strangers screaming for her just to notice them. When Leanna and Pablo meet at 5:00 a.m. at the bodega in the dead of winter it’s absurd to think they’d be A Thing. But as they discover who they are, who they want to be, and how to defy the deafening expectations of everyone else, Lee and Pab turn to each other. Which, of course, is when things get properly complicated.

Her Permanent Record by Jimmy Gownley

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2012-08-28
ISBN-13 : 9781416986140
Hardcover : 160 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

When Aunt Tanner disappears after an ex-boyfriend writes a tell-all book, eleven-year-old Amelia boards a bus on an epic journey to find her, with frenemy Rhonda in tow and help from a boy she thought she would never see again.

The Permanent Record by Gretchen Olnhausen

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Tate Publishing
Release : 2010-03
ISBN-13 : 9781615665808
Hardcover : 240 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

What will be in the permanent record of your life? What will you be held accountable for when the end arrives? the answer is: everything. Lily Taylor is born a precocious child with an affinity for nature. Her guardian angel watches over her with pride and affection as she grows to appreciate the wonders of God's world, vowing only to intercede in her actions and thoughts as the Master permits. As she encounters more and more adversity however, it becomes clear that Satan is beginning to work in her life and she must face the choice of which path to take. In the face of an abusive husband set on turning the world against her, Lily begins to rely on the counsel from her spiritual counterpart. By the time she encounters a family member succumbing to demonic forces, And The marriage of her daughter, which is eerily similar to her own, Lily has girded herself with every weapon her angel can provide her with and fights valiantly against the negative influences in her life. For better or worse, her choices, her actions, and her words are being recorded by the angel watching over her, and chronicled in the life she leads. Join Gretchen Olnhausen in discovering what the Permanent Record will contain.

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
Release : 2021-02-09
ISBN-13 : 9781250767929
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A young reader’s adaptation of whistleblower and bestselling author Edward Snowden's memoir, Permanent Record—featuring a brand-new afterword that includes resources to learn about the basics of digital security. In 2013, Edward Snowden shocked the world when he revealed that the United States government was secretly building a system of mass surveillance with the ability to gaze into the private lives of every person on earth. Phone calls, text messages, emails—nothing was safe from prying eyes. Now the man who risked everything to expose the truth about government spying describes for a new generation how he helped build that system, what motivated him to try to bring it down, and how young people can strive to protect their privacy in the digital age. “Snowden's sprightly prose, his deep technical knowledge, his superb knack for explaining complex matters, his ability to articulate principled action all come together in a book that is, if anything, BETTER than the adult version.” —Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing

Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release : 2019-04-09
ISBN-13 : 9781534408975
Hardcover : 416 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she’d somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind. Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

Yolk by Mary H. K. Choi

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2021-03-02
ISBN-13 : 9781534446021
Hardcover : 400 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From New York Times bestselling author Mary H.K. Choi comes a funny and emotional story about two estranged sisters and how far they’ll go to save one of their lives—even if it means swapping identities. Jayne and June Baek are nothing alike. June’s three years older, a classic first-born, know-it-all narc with a problematic finance job and an equally soulless apartment (according to Jayne). Jayne is an emotionally stunted, self-obsessed basket case who lives in squalor, has egregious taste in men, and needs to get to class and stop wasting Mom and Dad’s money (if you ask June). Once thick as thieves, these sisters who moved from Seoul to San Antonio to New York together now don’t want anything to do with each other. That is, until June gets cancer. And Jayne becomes the only one who can help her. Flung together by circumstance, housing woes, and family secrets, will the sisters learn more about each other than they’re willing to confront? And what if while helping June, Jayne has to confront the fact that maybe she’s sick, too?

Temporary Courts Permanent Records by Trudy Huskamp Peterson

Genre : Court records
Editor :
Release : 2006
ISBN-13 : PURD:32754076782840
Hardcover : 19 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Introduction -- Courts and their records -- The role of the United Nations -- Users and records of the courts -- Need for an international judicial archives -- Appraising court records -- Evidence -- Access to court records -- Conclusion -- Recommendations.

Genre : Fiction
Editor : ReadHowYouWant.com
Release : 2010-02
ISBN-13 : 9781458766281
Hardcover : 320 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

At the beginning of a lonely summer, 16-year-old Vaughn Vance meets Sophie Birch, and the two forge an instant and volatile alliance at Nashville's neglected Dragon Park. But when Vaughn takes up photography, she trains her lens on Sophie, and their bond dissolves as quickly as it came into focus. Felts keenly illuminates the pitfalls of coming of age as an artist, the slippery nature of identity, and the clash of class in the New South. This Will Go Down on Your Permanent Record is a sparkling and probing debut novel from a rising literary star.