Pax Romana by Adrian Goldsworthy

Genre : History
Editor : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Release : 2016-08-11
ISBN-13 : 9780297864295
Hardcover : 528 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Pax Romana is famous for having provided a remarkable period of peace and stability, rarely seen before or since. Yet the Romans were first and foremost conquerors, imperialists who took by force a vast empire stretching from the Euphrates in the east to the Atlantic coast in the west. Their peace meant Roman victory and was brought about by strength and dominance rather than co-existence with neighbours. The Romans were aggressive and ruthless, and during the creation of their empire millions died or were enslaved. But the Pax Romana was real, not merely the boast of emperors, and some of the regions in the Empire have never again lived for so many generations free from major wars. So what exactly was the Pax Romana and what did it mean for the people who found themselves brought under Roman rule? Acclaimed historian Adrian Goldsworthy tells the story of the creation of the Empire, revealing how and why the Romans came to control so much of the world and asking whether the favourable image of the Roman peace is a true one. He chronicles the many rebellions by the conquered, and describes why these broke out and why most failed. At the same time, he explains that hostility was only one reaction to the arrival of Rome, and from the start there was alliance, collaboration and even enthusiasm for joining the invaders, all of which increased as resistance movements faded away. A ground-breaking and comprehensive history of the Roman Peace, Pax Romana takes the reader on a journey from the bloody conquests of an aggressive Republic through the age of Caesar and Augustus to the golden age of peace and prosperity under diligent emperors like Marcus Aurelius, offering a balanced and nuanced reappraisal of life in the Roman Empire.

Pax Romana by Paul Petit

Genre : Rome
Editor : Univ of California Press
Release : 1976-01-01
ISBN-13 : 0520021711
Hardcover : 368 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Pax Romana by Jonathan Hickman

Genre : Comics & Graphic Novels
Editor : Image Comics
Release : 2012-03-07
ISBN-13 : 9781607066460
Hardcover : 140 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Collects issues 1-4 of PAX ROMANA plus bonus materials! From the mind of comic book innovator Jonathan Hickman, comes the exhilarating time-traveling epic: PAX ROMANA. The creator of THE NIGHTLY NEWS brings his unique sensibility to science fiction and the result is a visually stunning look at a new history of the world. PAX ROMANA tells the tale of 5000 men sent on an impossible mission to change the past and save the future.

Pax Romana by Adrian Goldsworthy

Genre : History
Editor : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Release : 2016-08-11
ISBN-13 : 9780297864295
Hardcover : 528 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Pax Romana is famous for having provided a remarkable period of peace and stability, rarely seen before or since. Yet the Romans were first and foremost conquerors, imperialists who took by force a vast empire stretching from the Euphrates in the east to the Atlantic coast in the west. Their peace meant Roman victory and was brought about by strength and dominance rather than co-existence with neighbours. The Romans were aggressive and ruthless, and during the creation of their empire millions died or were enslaved. But the Pax Romana was real, not merely the boast of emperors, and some of the regions in the Empire have never again lived for so many generations free from major wars. So what exactly was the Pax Romana and what did it mean for the people who found themselves brought under Roman rule? Acclaimed historian Adrian Goldsworthy tells the story of the creation of the Empire, revealing how and why the Romans came to control so much of the world and asking whether the favourable image of the Roman peace is a true one. He chronicles the many rebellions by the conquered, and describes why these broke out and why most failed. At the same time, he explains that hostility was only one reaction to the arrival of Rome, and from the start there was alliance, collaboration and even enthusiasm for joining the invaders, all of which increased as resistance movements faded away. A ground-breaking and comprehensive history of the Roman Peace, Pax Romana takes the reader on a journey from the bloody conquests of an aggressive Republic through the age of Caesar and Augustus to the golden age of peace and prosperity under diligent emperors like Marcus Aurelius, offering a balanced and nuanced reappraisal of life in the Roman Empire.

Pax Romana by Benoît Séverac

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Enigma Books
Release : 2013-10-18
ISBN-13 : 9781929631971
Hardcover : 206 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A fast-paced historical mystery set in Aquitania during during Roman conquest. Will appeal to readers of I, Claudius.

Genre : Religion
Editor :
Release : 1987
ISBN-13 : UOM:39015049258588
Hardcover : 245 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

How providential, it is often argued, that Christianity began under the pax Romano, an unprecedented time of peace throughout the world! At what other time could the gospel have spread so quickly? Certainly the pax Romana was a time of peace, prosperity and justice for some - yet for others, the majority, it was a time of oppression, misery and suffering under the tyrant's whim. This latter dimension is not often brought out, so this new book plays an important role in redressing the balance. In it, Professor Wengst brings out what it was really like to live in the Roman empire. He is not so much concerned to offer a 'balanced' account as to show what it felt like from below, its effect on the nameless multitudes of whose immeasurable tears and sufferings, hopes and fears there is only indirect evidence. This serves as a prelude to a discussion of the experiences which Jesus and the early Christians had of Roman rule and the way in which they reacted to it. There is no mistaking the fact that the results of the study are not just a piece of past history, but are extraordinarily relevant to the modern world.

Pax Romana by E. Hitchen

Genre : Latin language
Editor :
Release :
ISBN-13 : OCLC:1063946712
Hardcover : 64 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Empires And Citizens by Ben Walsh

Genre : History
Editor : Nelson Thornes
Release : 2003
ISBN-13 : 0748769412
Hardcover : 176 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This book builds on themes and content covered at Key Stage 2 History and develops a strong course of progression through Key Stage 3 for improved performance at GCSE. It meets the requirements of the National Curriculum Programme of Study using a ready made scheme of work.

Hegemonic Peace And Empire by Ali Parchami

Genre : History
Editor : Routledge
Release : 2009-03-04
ISBN-13 : 9781134007035
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This book examines the language and the ideology of the Pax Romana, the Pax Britannica and the Pax Americana within the broader contexts of 'hegemony' and 'empire'. It addresses three main themes: a conceptual examination of the way in which hegemony has been justified; a linguistic study of how the notion of pax (usually translated as peace) has been used in ancient and modern times; and a study of the international orders created by Rome and Britain. Using an historiographical approach, the book draws upon texts from Greco-Roman antiquity, and sources from the nineteenth, twentieth and twenty-first centuries to show how the pax ideology has served as a justification for hegemonic foreign policy, and as an intellectual exercise in power projection. From Tacitus' condemnation of what he described as 'creating a wilderness and calling it peace', to debates about the establishment of a Pax Americana in post-Saddam Hussein's Iraq, the book shows not only how the governing elite in each of the three hegemonic orders prescribed to a loose interpretation of the pax ideology, but also how their internal disagreements and different conceptualisations of pax have affected the process of 'empire-building'. This book will be of interest to students of international history, empire, and International Relations in general.

Pax Romana And World Peace by Lawrence Waddy

Genre : Rome
Editor :
Release : 1951
ISBN-13 : UOM:39015026652134
Hardcover : 240 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet