Mistakes That Worked by Charlotte Foltz Jones

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release : 2016-10-11
ISBN-13 : 9780399552038
Hardcover : 96 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Popsicles, potato chips, Silly Putty, Velcro, and many other familiar things have fascinating stories behind them. In fact, dozens of products and everyday items had surprisingly haphazard beginnings. Mistakes That Worked offers forty of these unusual tales, along with hilarious cartoons and weird and amazing facts. Readers will be surprised and inspired!

Accidents May Happen by Charlotte Foltz Jones

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release : 2011-08-31
ISBN-13 : 9780307554123
Hardcover : 96 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From Wheaties to telephones, microwave ovens to yo-yos, here are the inspiring and often funny stories of 50 mistakes and misunderstandings that helped bring about life as we know it. With hilarious cartoons and wacky facts, this fascinating compendium illustrates the adage "If you don't learn from your mistakes, there's no sense making them." From the Trade Paperback edition.

Mistakes I Made At Work by Jessica Bacal

Genre : Business & Economics
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2014-04-29
ISBN-13 : 9781101632017
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

High-achieving women share their worst mistakes at work—and how learning from them paved the way to success. Named by Fast Company as a "Top 10 Book You Need to Read This Year" In Mistakes I Made at Work, a Publishers Weekly Top 10 Business Book for Spring 2014, Jessica Bacal interviews twenty-five successful women about their toughest on-the-job moments. These innovators across a variety of fields – from the arts to finance to tech – reveal that they’re more thoughtful, purposeful and assertive as leaders because they learned from their mistakes, not because they never made any. Interviewees include: Cheryl Strayed, bestselling author of Wild Anna Holmes, founding editor of Jezebel.com Kim Gordon, founding member of the band Sonic Youth Joanna Barsch, Director Emeritus of McKinsey & Company Carol Dweck, Stanford psychology professor Ruth Ozeki, New York Times bestselling author of Tale for the Time Being And many more For readers of Lean In and #Girlboss, Mistakes I Made for Work is ideal for millenials just starting their careers, for women seeking to advance at work, or for anyone grappling with issues of perfectionism, and features fascinating and surprising anecdotes, as well as tips for readers.

Mistakes To Run With by Yasuko Thanh

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2019-04-02
ISBN-13 : 9780735234420
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A devastatingly frank memoir that tears open the past to examine how circumstances--and the choices we make--dictate the people we become. Mistakes to Run With chronicles the turbulent life of Yasuko Thanh, from early childhood in the closest thing Victoria, BC, has to a slum to teen years as a sex worker and, finally, to her emergence as an award-winning author. As a child, Thanh embraced evangelical religion, only to rebel against it and her equally rigid parents, cutting herself, smoking, and shoplifting. At fifteen, the honour-roll runaway develops a taste for drugs and alcohol. After a stint in jail at sixteen, feeling utterly abandoned by her family, school, and society, Thanh meets the man who would become her pimp and falls in love. The next chapter of her life takes Thanh to the streets of Vancouver, where she endures beatings, arrests, crack cocaine, and an unwanted pregnancy. The act of writing ultimately becomes a solace from her suffering. Leaving the sex trade, but refusing to settle on any one thing, Thanh forges a new life for herself, from dealing drugs in four languages to motherhood and a complicated marriage, and emerges as a successful writer. But even as publication and awards bolster her, she remains haunted by her past.

Genre : History
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2010-10-05
ISBN-13 : 9781101443675
Hardcover : 400 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Collected in one volume, here are backfires and blunders that collapsed empires, crashed economies, and altered the course of the world. From the Maginot Line to the Cuban Missile Crisis, history is filled with bad moves and not-so-bright ideas that snowballed into disasters and unintended consequences. This engrossing book looks at one hundred such tipping points. Japan bombs Pearl Harbor. The Caliphs of Baghdad spend themselves into bankruptcy. The Aztecs greet the Conquistadors with open arms. Mexico invites the Americans to Texas-and the Americans never leave. And the rest is history...

Mistakes That Worked by Charlotte Foltz Jones

Genre : Inventions
Editor : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release : 2016
ISBN-13 : 9780399552021
Hardcover : 96 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Originally published: New York: Doubleday, 1991.

Mistakes That Worked by Charlotte Foltz Jones

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release : 2015-05-12
ISBN-13 : 9780307557988
Hardcover : 96 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Popsicles, potato chips, Silly Putty, Velcro, and many other familiar things have fascinating stories behind them. In fact, dozens of products and everyday items had surprisingly haphazard beginnings. Mistakes That Worked offers forty of these unusual tales, along with hilarious cartoons and weird and amazing facts. Readers will be surprised and inspired!

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Sourcebooks, Inc.
Release : 2011
ISBN-13 : 9781402255441
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Beatrice is so well-known for never making a mistake that she is greeted each morning by fans and reporters, but a near-error on the day of the school talent show could change everything.

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2014-07-15
ISBN-13 : 9780316406321
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In a tradition of Todd Parr's fan-favorite It's Okay to Be Different a book about embracing mistakes and the joy of happy accidents. Todd Parr's bestselling books have reminded kids to embrace differences, to be thankful, to love one another, and to be themselves. It's Okay to Make Mistakes embraces life's happy accidents, the mistakes and mess-ups that can lead to self discovery. Todd Parr brings a timely theme to life with his signature bold, kid-friendly illustrations and a passion for making readers feel good about themselves, encouraging them to try new things, experiment, and dare to explore new paths. From coloring outside the lines and creating a unique piece of art to forgetting an umbrella but making a new friend, each page offers a kid-friendly take on the importance of taking chances, trying new things, and embracing life, mistakes and all.

All The Right Mistakes by Laura Jamison

Genre : Fiction
Editor : She Writes Press
Release : 2020-08-04
ISBN-13 : 9781631527104
Hardcover : 328 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Five college friends have arrived at forty in very different circumstances, but with at least one thing in common: they are among the more privileged in society. Elizabeth and Sara are lawyers, Martha is a doctor, Carmen is a wealthy and well-educated homemaker, and Heather, the most successful, is a famous tech executive—and after more than two decades of friendship, they know one another better than anyone. Then Heather writes a women’s advice book detailing the key life “mistakes” of her four friends—opting out, ramping off, giving half effort, and forgetting your fertility—that becomes wildly popular, and Elizabeth, Sara, Martha, and Carmen all feel the sting of Heather’s cruel words. Despite their status, these women face everyday obstacles, including work problems, parenting challenges, secondary infertility, racism, sexism, financial stress, and marital woes—and as they weather their fortieth year, each one can’t help but wonder if their life might have been different if they had followed Heather’s advice. But as these friends are continually reminded, life is complex, messy, disappointing, and joyful, often all at once—and no one can plan her way out of that reality. In the end, all five women must embrace the idea that their lives are shaped not just by their choices but also by how they handle the obstacles life inevitably throws at us all.