Home Of The Brave by Katherine Applegate

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Feiwel & Friends
Release : 2014-12-23
ISBN-13 : 9781466887831
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Kek comes from Africa. In America he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. He's never walked on ice, and he falls. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the winter – cold and unkind. In Africa, Kek lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now she's missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends: a girl who is in foster care; an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means "family" in Kek's native language. As Kek awaits word of his mother's fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country. Bestselling author Katherine Applegate presents a beautifully wrought novel about an immigrant's journey from hardship to hope. Home of the Brave is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Home Of The Brave by Katherine Applegate

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Macmillan
Release : 2007-08-21
ISBN-13 : 9780312367657
Hardcover : 249 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Kek, an African refugee, is confronted by many strange things at the Minneapolis home of his aunt and cousin, as well as in his fifth grade classroom, and longs for his missing mother, until he finds comfort in the company of a cow and her owner.

Home Of The Brave by Katherine Applegate

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Macmillan
Release : 2007-08-21
ISBN-13 : 0312367651
Hardcover : 249 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Kek, an African refugee, is confronted by many strange things at the Minneapolis home of his aunt and cousin, as well as in his fifth grade classroom, and longs for his missing mother, until he finds comfort in the company of a cow and her owner.

Home Of The Brave by Arthur Laurents

Genre : Drama
Editor : Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
Release : 1949
ISBN-13 : 0822205297
Hardcover : 72 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

THE STORY: A group of American soldiers volunteer for a dangerous mission to a Japanese-occupied island. One soldier develops a complex because he convinces himself that he has failed in his duty to a dying buddy. He imagines that being a Jew and t

Home Of The Brave by Allen Say

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release : 2002-04-30
ISBN-13 : 054734595X
Hardcover : 32 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In dreamlike sequences, a man symbolically confronts the trauma of his family’s incarceration in the Japanese internment camps during World War II. This infamous event is made emotionally clear through his meeting a group of children all with strange name tags pinned to their coats. The man feels the helplessness of the children. Finally, desperately he releases the name tags like birds into the air to find their way home with the hope for a time when Americans will be seen as one people—not judged, mistrusted, or segregated because of their individual heritage. Sixty years after thousands of Japanese Americans were unjustly imprisoned, the cogent prose and haunting paintings of renowned author and illustrator Allen Say remind readers of a dark chapter in America’s history.

Home Of The Brave Part 1 by Michael Kleen

Genre :
Editor : BLACK OAK MEDIA INC
Release : 2012-09-01
ISBN-13 : 9781618760104
Hardcover : 104 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The year is 2015. Chris Randall is an average American male. Growing up during the 1990s, he witnesses the turmoil of the world through the safety of a television set. His idols include popular musicians and sports figures. He cannot point out the country of Mongolia on a map. The hardest decision he faces is whether to go to college or join the military like so many of his friends. But something happens that changes all of that. In one day, his entire world is unraveled. A massive electromagnetic pulse cripples all electronic devices throughout the country, and temporary chaos sets in. What emerges is a different but strangely familiar world a world that had always been seething just beneath the surface. As the dust settles, only the strong and resourceful survive. Millions of others die from famine, disease, and disorder. Chris must make a choice: succumb to nihilism, hatred, and self-destruction, or find redemption by leaving behind everything he has ever known. This 2nd Revised Edition features a new introduction by the author.

Home Of The Brave by Caspar Weinberger

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Forge Books
Release : 2007-05-29
ISBN-13 : 9781429936279
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In Home of the Brave, former Secreatary of Defense Caspar W. Weinberger brings us a chronicle of heroism in the War on Terror. They are nineteen of the most highly decorated soldiers, sailors, airmen, and marines in the United States military, and yet most Americans don't even know their names. In this riveting, intimate account, former Secretary of Defense Caspar Weinberger and Wynton C. Hall tell stories of jaw-dropping heroism and hope in Afghanistan and Iraq. Home of the Brave takes readers beyond the bullets and battles and into the hearts and minds of the men and women who are fighting terrorists overseas so that America doesn't have to fight them at home. These are the powerful, true-life stories of the hopes, fears, and triumphs these men and women experienced fighting the War on Terror. But more than that, these are the stories of soldiers who risked everything to save lives and defend freedom. Including: *Lieutenant Colonel Mark Mitchell, the Green Beret leader whose 15-man Special Forces team took 500 Al Qaeda and Taliban prisoners, and posthumously repatriated the body of the first American to die in combat in the War on Terror, CIA agent Johnny "Mike" Spann. *Army National Guard Sergeant Leigh Ann Hester, the first woman ever to be awarded the Silver Star for combat, whose sharp-shooting and bravery played an enormous role in fighting off over fifty Iraqi insurgents while her ten-person squad protected a convoy of supplies on the way to fellow soldiers. *Sergeant Rafael Peralta, a Mexican immigrant, enlisted in the Marines the same day he received his green card. Wounded from enemy fire, Peralta used his body to smother the blast of an enemy grenade and gave his life so that his marine brothers could live. These real-life heroes remind us of American history's most enduring lesson: Ours would not be the land of the free if it were not also the home of the brave. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Home Of The Brave by LOREN LONG

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2012-12-11
ISBN-13 : 9781471109621
Hardcover : 336 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In Blastin’the Blues, still fearing they are being followed and even more worried they have a traitor in their midst, the team travels to New Orleans, where the magic of their ball and the music of the city create one memorable game. But like always, trouble is right around the corner and the hits keep on coming for the Payne family and all of the Travelin’Nine! In Home of the Brave, after the rousing success in New Orleans, Griffith, Ruby, and Graham are determined to beat the Chancellor at his own game and save their family as well as the game of baseball. Pulling into their hometown of Baltimore, the Paynes are reunited with a familiar face, and the Travelin’Nine are tested on the field once again. Can they win without the help of their baseball? Prepare for fireworks in this final inning to the grand slam series, Sluggers!

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : Carolrhoda Books ®
Release : 2014-08-01
ISBN-13 : 9781467765961
Hardcover : 344 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Before one fateful April day, Jeanne lived the life of a typical Rwandan girl. She fought with her little sister, went to school, and teased her brother. Then, in one horrifying night, everything changed. Political troubles unleashed a torrent of violence upon the Tutsi ethnic group. Jeanne’s family, all Tutsis, fled their home and tried desperately to reach safety. They—along with nearly 1 million others—did not survive. The only survivor of her family’s massacre, Jeanne witnessed unspeakable acts. But through courage, wits, and sheer force of will, she survived. Based on a true story, this haunting novel by Jeanne’s adoptive mother makes unforgettably real the events of the 1994 Rwandan genocide as one family experienced it. Jeanne’s story is a tribute to the human spirit and its capacity to heal.

The Brave by James Bird

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : Feiwel & Friends
Release : 2020-06-30
ISBN-13 : 9781250247742
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother. Collin can't help himself—he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. Collin’s quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, a girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda’s help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.