Migrations by Charlotte McConaghy

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Flatiron Books
Release : 2020-08-04
ISBN-13 : 9781250204011
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK (Entertainment Weekly, Vogue, Vulture, Elle, Harper's Bazaar, Library Journal, Maclean's, and more) "As beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read...Extraordinary." —Emily St. John Mandel "I recommend Migrations with my whole heart." —Geraldine Brooks For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption. Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world’s last flock of Arctic terns and track their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds will lead them to fish. As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny’s dark history begins to unspool. Battered by night terrors, accumulating a pile of unsent letters, and obsessed with pursuing the terns at any cost, Franny is full of secrets. When her quest threatens the safety of the entire crew, Franny must ask herself what she is really running toward—and running from. Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Charlotte McConaghy's Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking page-turner about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

Caste by Isabel Wilkerson

Genre : Social Science
Editor : Penguin Random House
Release : 2020
ISBN-13 : 9780593230251
Hardcover : 496 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK - The Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Warmth of Other Suns examines the unspoken caste system that has shaped America and shows how our lives today are still defined by a hierarchy of human divisions. "An instant American classic."--Dwight Garner, The New York Times "As we go about our daily lives, caste is the wordless usher in a darkened theater, flashlight cast down in the aisles, guiding us to our assigned seats for a performance. The hierarchy of caste is not about feelings or morality. It is about power--which groups have it and which do not." In this brilliant book, Isabel Wilkerson gives us a masterful portrait of an unseen phenomenon in America as she explores, through an immersive, deeply researched narrative and stories about real people, how America today and throughout its history has been shaped by a hidden caste system, a rigid hierarchy of human rankings. Beyond race, class, or other factors, there is a powerful caste system that influences people's lives and behavior and the nation's fate. Linking the caste systems of America, India, and Nazi Germany, Wilkerson explores eight pillars that underlie caste systems across civilizations, including divine will, bloodlines, stigma, and more. Using riveting stories about people--including Martin Luther King, Jr., baseball's Satchel Paige, a single father and his toddler son, Wilkerson herself, and many others--she shows the ways that the insidious undertow of caste is experienced every day. She documents how the Nazis studied the racial systems in America to plan their out-cast of the Jews; she discusses why the cruel logic of caste requires that there be a bottom rung for those in the middle to measure themselves against; she writes about the surprising health costs of caste, in depression and life expectancy, and the effects of this hierarchy on our culture and politics. Finally, she points forward to ways America can move beyond the artificial and destructive separations of human divisions, toward hope in our common humanity. Beautifully written, original, and revealing, Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents is an eye-opening story of people and history, and a reexamination of what lies under the surface of ordinary lives and of American life today.

Gendering Caste by Uma Chakravarti

Genre : Social Science
Editor : Sage Publications Pvt. Limited
Release : 2018-09-17
ISBN-13 : 9789381345467
Hardcover : 224 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The continuous demand for Gendering Caste: Through a Feminist Lens (2003) led to this revised edition which analyses the recent socio-economic and political changes that have taken place. Caste-based marriage and control over women's sexuality have been crucial for the continuation of the caste system in India. Thus, caste and gender are linked. Brutal reprisals have followed when dalits and women have tried to challenge caste-based marriage and inequality which allots strict rules of conduct for women and all dalits. Maithreyi Krishnaraj, the Series Editor, highlights the author’s discussion on the new ways in which caste violence targets women and on the changes within the family—immediate and extended—that still keep women subservient to caste norms. She points to the new discussion on an economy in transition to capitalism, and persistent conflicts over religion, language, ethnicity and other differences that relate to gender. The book also includes a new ‘Afterword: Caste and Gender in the New Millennium’, which provides an updated discussion on the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Act 1989 (known in short as Prevention of Atrocities Act: POA). Erudite, yet accessible, this book enables the reader to understand the ramifications of caste today.

Caste by Thomas William Robertson

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1890
ISBN-13 : HARVARD:HWP7D3
Hardcover : 51 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Genre : Social Science
Editor : Sage Publications Pvt. Limited
Release : 2020-07-06
ISBN-13 : 9789353884093
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Political Economy of Caste in India presents the caste mode of production as an important analytical tool to understand the socio-economic and political dynamics of India. The book looks at caste from the economic base and also links it with the superstructure that includes judiciary, untouchability practices, caste atrocities against Dalits, social exclusion and so on. It presents empirical studies to show that the social habits of discrimination and crimes against the marginalized communities prevail even in the 21st century to physically alienate them from mainstream opportunities and ensure involuntary supply of labour at lower wages. It articulates that the economic intensity of caste can be discerned through the caste mode of production. The study brings out the limitations of some of the Marxists’ understanding of caste. It also presents a distinct approach for comprehending caste and suggests that the human rights perspective is one of the ways to combat it.

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1885
ISBN-13 : OXFORD:590209065
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1858
ISBN-13 : BL:A0017801650
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 1872
ISBN-13 : OXFORD:600055477
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Genre : African American Episcopalians
Editor :
Release : 1843
ISBN-13 : HARVARD:32044020262770
Hardcover : 51 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Political Tribes by Amy Chua

Genre : Political Science
Editor : Penguin
Release : 2018-02-20
ISBN-13 : 9780399562860
Hardcover : 304 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The bestselling author of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, Yale Law School Professor Amy Chua offers a bold new prescription for reversing our foreign policy failures and overcoming our destructive political tribalism at home Humans are tribal. We need to belong to groups. In many parts of the world, the group identities that matter most – the ones that people will kill and die for – are ethnic, religious, sectarian, or clan-based. But because America tends to see the world in terms of nation-states engaged in great ideological battles – Capitalism vs. Communism, Democracy vs. Authoritarianism, the “Free World” vs. the “Axis of Evil” – we are often spectacularly blind to the power of tribal politics. Time and again this blindness has undermined American foreign policy. In the Vietnam War, viewing the conflict through Cold War blinders, we never saw that most of Vietnam’s “capitalists” were members of the hated Chinese minority. Every pro-free-market move we made helped turn the Vietnamese people against us. In Iraq, we were stunningly dismissive of the hatred between that country’s Sunnis and Shias. If we want to get our foreign policy right – so as to not be perpetually caught off guard and fighting unwinnable wars – the United States has to come to grips with political tribalism abroad. Just as Washington’s foreign policy establishment has been blind to the power of tribal politics outside the country, so too have American political elites been oblivious to the group identities that matter most to ordinary Americans – and that are tearing the United States apart. As the stunning rise of Donald Trump laid bare, identity politics have seized both the American left and right in an especially dangerous, racially inflected way. In America today, every group feels threatened: whites and blacks, Latinos and Asians, men and women, liberals and conservatives, and so on. There is a pervasive sense of collective persecution and discrimination. On the left, this has given rise to increasingly radical and exclusionary rhetoric of privilege and cultural appropriation. On the right, it has fueled a disturbing rise in xenophobia and white nationalism. In characteristically persuasive style, Amy Chua argues that America must rediscover a national identity that transcends our political tribes. Enough false slogans of unity, which are just another form of divisiveness. It is time for a more difficult unity that acknowledges the reality of group differences and fights the deep inequities that divide us.