Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Thomas Nelson Inc
Release : 2012-04
ISBN-13 : 9781400204588
Hardcover : 243 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A popular minister recounts his zealous early life pursuit of the Christian life and his experiences of emptiness and spiritual detachment, tracing his quest to connect with a God he perceived as distant.

Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Thomas Nelson Inc
Release : 2012-04
ISBN-13 : 9781400204588
Hardcover : 243 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A popular minister recounts his zealous early life pursuit of the Christian life and his experiences of emptiness and spiritual detachment, tracing his quest to connect with a God he perceived as distant.

Searching For God Knows What by Donald Miller

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2010-05-24
ISBN-13 : 9781418529956
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In Searching for God Knows What, best-selling author Donald Miller invites you to reconnect with a faith worth believing. With humor, intelligence, and his trademark writing style, he shows that relationship is God’s way of leading us to redemption. And our need for redemption drives us to relationship with God. “Being a Christian,” Miller writes, “is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas.” Maybe you are a Christian wondering what faith you signed up for. Or maybe you don’t believe anything and are daring someone—anyone—to show you a genuine example of authentic faith. Somewhere beyond the self-help formulas, fancy marketing, and easy promises there is a life-changing experience with God waiting. Searching for God Knows What weaves together beautiful stories and fresh perspectives on the Bible to show one man’s journey to find it. “Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller’s newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market’s most creative writers.” —Christianity Today “If you have felt that Jesus is someone you respect and admire—but Christianity is something that repels you—Searching for God Knows What will give you hope that you still can follow Jesus and be part of a church without the trappings of organized religion.” —Dan Kimball Author of The Emerging Church and Pastor of Vintage Faith Church, Santa Cruz, CA “For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. He perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner . . . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start.” —Relevant

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2012
ISBN-13 : 1418549517
Hardcover : 85 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Explore the themes and questions raised in the major motion picture based on the best-selling bookBlue Like JazzbyDonald Miller.Youth workers, parents, and mentorsneed guidance in order to break through to youth during the critical transition to adulthood. Using the topics, themes, and questions addressed in Blue Like Jazz: The Movie as a means of starting the conversation, Donald Milleroffers an extremely frank look at sex, drugs, alternative lifestyles, and other situations youth face when moving fromhigh school to the freedom of college or a work environment. Featuring interviews with Donald Miller andclips from the movie along with a practical resource guide written in the language of today's youth,this interactive resourcehelps youth explore the consequences of their decisions without predetermined outcomes. Features include: 15(3-4-minute) video pieces/topical discussion starters featuring interviewswith Donald Miller, clips fromBlue Like Jazz: The Movie, and behind-the-scenes footage from the making of the film 5 (10-12-minute) extended video pieces for optional 5-week group curriculum Resource Guide with complete index of subjects addressed in the video and beyond,practical help for youth directors, mentors, and parents, a5-week curriculum option, and more Additional Exploring Blue Like Jazz resource guides can be purchased separately (ISBN 9781418549534).

Jazz Notes by Donald Miller

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2008-04-15
ISBN-13 : 9781418573195
Hardcover : 128 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Jazz Notes is the literary equivalent of a remix CD-cool sound-bytes strategically crafted from Don Miller's classic Blue Like Jazz, combined with brand new material that offers the author's fans an inside look at some of the unforgettable-and outrageous-characters and stories from the original best seller. Jazz Notes captures the essential Don Miller with non-religious reflections on how Don's incredible spiritual odyssey got started; what happened to Don at one of the most liberal colleges in the world to help him experience faith and grace for the first time in his life; a recasting of Don's marvelous "confession booth" story; and how Don discovered the secret to really loving other people-and himself. Jazz Notes includes a bonus audio CD with Don Miller interview. BLUE LIKE JAZZ Highlight Notes: 1 million copies sold 45 appearances on the NY Times Bestseller List-and counting A publishing phenomenon that continues to sell more books each year it is in the marketplace!

Through Painted Deserts by Donald Miller

Genre : Religion
Editor : Harper Collins
Release : 2005-08-16
ISBN-13 : 9781418578909
Hardcover : Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2007-09-30
ISBN-13 : 9781418551179
Hardcover : 768 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Blue Like Jazz, Through Painted Deserts, and Searching for God is authored by Donald Miller and bundled into a 3-in-1 collection.

Scary Close by Donald Miller

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2015-02-10
ISBN-13 : 9781400203970
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

After decades of failed relationships and painful drama, Donald Miller decided he’d had enough. Impressing people wasn’t helping him connect with anyone. He’d built a life of public isolation, yet he dreamed of meaningful relationships. So at forty years old he made a scary decision: to be himself no matter what it cost. From the author of Blue Like Jazz comes a book about the risk involved in choosing to impress fewer people and connect with more, about the freedom that comes when we stop acting and start loving. It is a story about knocking down old walls to create a healthy mind, a strong family, and a satisfying career. And it all feels like a conversation with the best kind of friend: smart, funny, true, important. Scary Close is Donald Miller at his best.

Genre : Religion
Editor : Thomas Nelson
Release : 2012-03-26
ISBN-13 : 9781418549541
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Growing up is harder than it used to be. Exploring Blue Like Jazz is a guide about how to do life and faith well in the phase after high school that some have termed “emerging adulthood.” It’s a book intended to make growing up a little easier. Using the topics, themes, and questions addressed in Blue Like Jazz: The Movie as a means of starting the conversation, Donald Miller and Dixon Kinser offer an extremely frank look at sex, drugs, questions of faith, and other topics students face when moving from high school to the freedom of college, a work environment, and beyond. This very candid resource guide is the first of its kind, providing practical help for emerging adults, youth directors, mentors, and parents. Features include: Complete index of subjects addressed in the video, with useful statistics, conversation starters, and critical questions for emerging adults to consider A plan for students and twenty-somethings to manage their new-found freedom 5-week study for youth leaders and small groups to help emerging adults work through these issues For use on its own or with the Exploring Blue Like Jazz DVD-Based Study (ISBN 9781418549510).

Genre : Science
Editor : Convergent Books
Release : 2020
ISBN-13 : 9781984823243
Hardcover : 240 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Holding brain science in one hand and rich emotional presence in the other, this book feels timely and necessary."--Shauna Niequist, New York Times bestselling author of Present Over Perfect Why is there such a gap between what you want to do and what you actually do? The host of Ask Science Mike explains why our desires and our real lives are so wildly different--and what you can do to close the gap. For thousands of years, scientists, philosophers, and self-help gurus have wrestled with one of the basic conundrums of human life: Why do we do the things we do? Or, rather, why do we so often not do the things we want to do? As a podcast host whose voice goes out to millions each month, Mike McHargue gets countless emails from people seeking to understand their own misbehavior--why we binge on Netflix when we know taking a walk outside would be better for us, or why we argue politics on Facebook when our real friends live just down the street. Everyone wants to be a good person, but few of us, twenty years into the new millennium, have any idea how to do that. In You're a Miracle (and a Pain in the Ass), McHargue addresses these issues. We like to think we're in control of our thoughts and decisions, he writes, but science has shown that a host of competing impulses, emotions, and environmental factors are at play in every action we undertake. Touching on his podcast listeners' most pressing questions, from relationships and ethics to stress and mental health, and sharing some of the biggest triumphs and hardships from his own life, McHargue shows us how some of our qualities that seem most frustrating--including "negative" emotions like sadness, anger, and anxiety--are actually key to helping humans survive and thrive. In doing so, he invites us on a path of self-understanding and, ultimately, self-acceptance. You're a Miracle (and a Pain in the Ass) is a guided tour through the mystery of human consciousness, showing readers how to live more at peace with themselves in a complex world.