And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Genre : Afghanistan
Editor : A&C Black
Release : 2013-10-10
ISBN-13 : 9781408852569
Hardcover : 416 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

So, then. You want a story and I will tell you one... Afghanistan, 1952. Abdullah and his sister Pari live in the small village of Shadbagh. To Abdullah, Pari, as beautiful and sweet-natured as the fairy for which she was named, is everything. More like a parent than a brother, Abdullah will do anything for her, even trading his only pair of shoes for a feather for her treasured collection. Each night they sleep together in their cot, their skulls touching, their limbs tangled. One day the siblings journey across the desert to Kabul with their father. Pari and Abdullah have no sense of the fate that awaits them there, for the event which unfolds will tear their lives apart; sometimes a finger must be cut to save the hand. Crossing generations and continents, moving from Kabul, to Paris, to San Francisco, to the Greek island of Tinos, Khaled Hosseini writes about the bonds that define us and shape our lives, and how the choices we make resonate through history.

And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Genre : Fiction
Editor : A&C Black
Release : 2013
ISBN-13 : 9781408842423
Hardcover : 404 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, the book that readers everywhere have been waiting for: his first novel in six years.

And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Genre : Fiction
Editor : A&C Black
Release : 2013-05-21
ISBN-13 : 9781408842447
Hardcover : 416 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns A Richard & Judy Summer Book Club pick Ten-year-old Abdullah would do anything for his younger sister. In a life of poverty and struggle, with no mother to care for them, Pari is the only person who brings Abdullah happiness. For her, he will trade his only pair of shoes to give her a feather for her treasured collection. When their father sets off with Pari across the desert to Kabul in search of work, Abdullah is determined not to be separated from her. Neither brother nor sister know what this fateful journey will bring them. And the Mountains Echoed is a deeply moving epic of heartache, hope and, above all, the unbreakable bonds of love.

One Half From The East by Nadia Hashimi

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Editor : HarperCollins
Release : 2016-09-06
ISBN-13 : 9780062421920
Hardcover : 272 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Sea Prayer by Khaled Hosseini

Genre : Fiction
Editor : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release : 2018-08-30
ISBN-13 : 9781526602701
Hardcover : 64 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller A deeply moving, gorgeously illustrated short story for people of all ages from the international bestselling author of The Kite Runner, brought to life by Dan Williams's beautiful illustrations 'The book may be brief, but it is beautiful, poetic – a distillation of his strengths' Sunday Times On a moonlit beach a father cradles his sleeping son as they wait for dawn to break and a boat to arrive. He speaks to his boy of the long summers of his childhood, recalling his grandfather's house in Syria, the stirring of olive trees in the breeze, the bleating of his grandmother's goat, the clanking of her cooking pots. And he remembers, too, the bustling city of Homs with its crowded lanes, its mosque and grand souk, in the days before the sky spat bombs and they had to flee. When the sun rises they and those around them will gather their possessions and embark on a perilous sea journey in search of a new home.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Genre : Fiction
Editor : A&C Black
Release : 2011-09-05
ISBN-13 : 9781408824856
Hardcover : 336 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Over 21 million copies sold worldwide

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Genre : Fiction
Editor : A&C Black
Release : 2008-09-18
ISBN-13 : 9780747585893
Hardcover : 419 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A riveting and powerful story of an unforgiving time, an unlikely friendship and an indestructible love

And The Mountains Echoed by Yosef Al Hommoud

Genre : Dissertations, Academic
Editor :
Release : 2014
ISBN-13 : OCLC:915153148
Hardcover : 70 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Many world-famous authors owe a significant portion of their fame to the unsung heroes of literary translation. This thesis explores issues related to literary translation by translating a literary text and providing a theoretical commentary. The work is built around the conventional binary opposites (including writer/reader, source/target, content/form, literal/free). In the beginning, the thesis attempts to define literature in English and Arabic, in order to understand the characteristics of literary translation. It reviews theoretical issues such as different readership, form and content, cohesion, register, culture and equivalence. Its focus is to discuss problems of translating literary prose in the light of theory, to find solutions for these problems and to inspect strategies and techniques that lead to these solutions. This thesis presents the translation of the first chapter of And the Mountains Echoed by the novelist Khaled Hosseini. The translation is followed by a commentary including a selection of translation examples, which are intended to be representative of the most recurring problems in the translation. Therefore, the notion of equivalence at various textual levels is used to organize the Commentary chapter, where the translation choices made in the examples selected are discussed, analyzed and explained. It is found that the theoretical issues reviewed have an impact on solving translation problems as well as the final results of the translation process. As for the ways leading to these solutions, it is concluded that the most recurring strategies useful in handling literary texts are those categorized under oblique translation method in Vinay and Darbelnet's model, namely transposition, modulation and equivalence."--Abstract.

The Novel Cure by Ella Berthoud

Genre : Reference
Editor : Penguin Canada
Release : 2013-10-08
ISBN-13 : 9780143190202
Hardcover : 432 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A novel is a story, a collection of experiences transmitted from the mind of one to the mind of another. It offers a way to unwind, a way to focus, a way to learn about life—dis­traction, entertainment, and diversion. But it can also be something much more powerful. When read at the right time in your life, a novel can—quite literally—change it. The Novel Cure is a reminder of that power. To create this apothecary, the authors have trawled through two thousand years of literature for the most brilliant minds and engrossing reads. Structured like a reference book, it allows readers to simply look up their ailment, whether it be agoraphobia, boredom, or midlife crisis, then they are given the name of a novel to read as the antidote.

Genre :
Editor :
Release : 2019-02-17
ISBN-13 : 1797426710
Hardcover : 35 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

SuperSummary, a modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, offers high-quality study guides for challenging works of literature. This 35-page guide for "And The Mountains Echoed" by Khaled Hosseini includes detailed chapter summaries and analysis covering 9 chapters, as well as several more in-depth sections of expert-written literary analysis. Featured content includes commentary on major characters, 10 important quotes, discussion topics, and key themes like Stories and Family Ties and Roots.