A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis

Genre : Religion
Editor : Faber & Faber
Release : 2012-10-04
ISBN-13 : 9780571265794
Hardcover : 64 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A Grief Observed comprises the reflections of the great scholar and Christian on the death of his wife after only a few short years of marriage. Painfully honest in its dissection of his thoughts and feelings, this is a book that details his paralysing grief, bewilderment and sense of loss in simple and moving prose. Invaluable as an insight into the grieving process just as much as it is as an exploration of religious doubt, A Grief Observed will continue to offer its consoling insights to a huge range of readers, as it has for over fifty years. 'A classic of the genre, a literary answer to the pain of loss.' Robert McCrum

A Grief Observed by C. S. Lewis

Genre : Bereavement
Editor :
Release : 2015
ISBN-13 : 0571310877
Hardcover : 128 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

Resilient Grieving by Lucy Hone

Genre : Self-Help
Editor : The Experiment
Release : 2017-03-21
ISBN-13 : 9781615193769
Hardcover : 256 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“This book aims to help you relearn your world . . . to help you navigate the grieving process as best you can—without hiding from your feelings or denying the reality, or significance, of your loss.” —from Resilient Grieving The death of someone we hold dear may be inevitable; being paralyzed by our grief is not. A growing body of research has revealed our capacity for resilient grieving, our innate ability to respond to traumatic loss by finding ways to grow—by becoming more engaged with our lives, and discovering new, profound meaning. Author and resilience/well-being expert Lucy Hone, a pioneer in fusing positive psychology and bereavement research, was faced with her own inescapable sorrow when, in 2014, her 12-year-old daughter was killed in a car accident. By following the strategies of resilient grieving, she found a proactive way to move through her grief, and, over time, embrace life again. Resilient Grieving offers an empowering alternative to the five-stage Kübler-Ross model of grief—and makes clear our inherent capacity for growth following the trauma of a loss that changes everything.

Bearing The Unbearable by Joanne Cacciatore

Genre : Family & Relationships
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2017-06-27
ISBN-13 : 9781614292968
Hardcover : 248 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Subject: When a loved one dies, the pain of loss can feel unbearable, especially in the case of a traumatizing death that leaves us shouting, 'NO!' with every fiber of our body. The process of grieving can feel wild and nonlinear and often lasts for much longer than other people, the nonbereaved, tell us it should. This book is a companion for life and most difficult times, revealing how grief can open our hearts to connection, compassion, and the very essence of our shared humanity. The author, who is also a bereavement educator, researcher, Zen priest, and leading counselor in the field accompanies the reader along the heartbreaking path of love, loss, and grief. Through moving stories of her encounters with grief over decades of supporting individuals, families, and communities, as well as her own experience with loss, the author opens a space to process, integrate, and deeply honor our grief

Genre : Self-Help
Editor : e-artnow
Release : 2016-05-02
ISBN-13 : 9788026851943
Hardcover : 160 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This carefully crafted ebook: "A GRIEF OBSERVED: A Book that Questions the Nature of Grief (Based on a Personal Journal)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. A Grief Observed is a collection of Lewis's reflections on the experience of bereavement following the death of his wife, Joy Davidman, in 1960. The book was first published under the pseudonym N.W. Clerk as Lewis wished to avoid identification as the author. Though republished in 1963 after his death under his own name, the text still refers to his wife as "H" (her first name, which she rarely used, was Helen). The book is compiled from the four notebooks which Lewis used to vent and explore his grief. He illustrates the everyday trials of his life without Joy and explores fundamental questions of faith and theodicy. Lewis's step-son (Joy's son) Douglas Gresham points out in his 1994 introduction that the indefinite article 'a' in the title makes it clear that Lewis's grief is not the quintessential grief experience at the loss of a loved one, but one individual's perspective among countless others. The book helped inspire a 1985 television movie Shadowlands, as well as a 1993 film of the same name. Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, lay theologian and Christian apologist. He is best known for his fictional work, especially The Screwtape Letters, The Chronicles of Narnia, and The Space Trilogy, and for his non-fiction Christian apologetics, such as Mere Christianity, Miracles, and The Problem of Pain.

A Buddhist Grief Observed by Guy Newland

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2016-08-09
ISBN-13 : 9781614293224
Hardcover : 136 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Dogen and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

A Grief Observed by R. B. Taylor

Genre :
Editor : Lulu.com
Release : 2010-05-09
ISBN-13 : 9780557381838
Hardcover : 108 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A Grief Observed is an intensely personal journey through loss, mourning, and ultimately recovery told in emotionally raw yet lushly literate poetry and art.

Genre : Religion
Editor : Holman Reference
Release : 2017-10
ISBN-13 : 1462766099
Hardcover : 100 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Shepherd's notes helps readers better learn the books of the Bible and Christian classic writings in a concise and easy-to-understand format.

Genre : Self-Help
Editor : Lulu.com
Release : 2010-03-12
ISBN-13 : 9780557170951
Hardcover : 64 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Lewis' feelings and musings about his wife's death were first published in 1961. Since then it has helped thousands and thousands of people who have read it or have spoken of its contents. This study is to encourage you to read the book in its entirety. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that Lewis and all mankind struggles with in grief. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that everyone faces in loss. Each page is designed to be a discussion session for a group or 5-12 students. Discuss the passage of A Grief Observed prior to delving into the questions. Allow each student to respond to the first question before going on to the next. Allow for more time if some student has difficulty understanding or answering the question. It is my hope that these will assist you in helping young people make sense of death(s) in their lives. This book was written to help teens in grief support groups. It is my hope it can be a help to you and others.

A Mother S Grief Observed by Rebecca Faber

Genre : Religion
Editor : Tyndale House Pub
Release : 1997
ISBN-13 : 0842339957
Hardcover : 154 Pages


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Rebecca Faber learned about grief when her toddler son drowned in the family pool. She offers you her experience in the hope that it can help you is your journey toward a God whose love is indeed stronger than death.